1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Intel's Alder Lake CPUs May Not Work With Older Games

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Purgatory, 17 Oct 2021.

  1. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    Lol :D Said by the master of ignoring posts................beggers belief.
     
  2. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,382

    Location: Rutland

    I'm not sure who out of Dave2150 or 4K8KW10 is the worst at that. Dave2150 never defends his nonsense posts, 4K8KW10 sometimes makes a token effort.
     
  3. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 79,308

    On a related note - I no longer buy games from developers/publishers who have a history of abandoning games with the result they are unplayable due to the DRM (unless you use potentially dodgy software to work around it) down the line and/or sunset games so they are no longer playable after a few years - I wish people in general would do the same.

    This has rather reduced the content available to me but made easier by so many games being released now being utter rubbish.
     
  4. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    Looks like Intel wants it's users to beta test Alder Lake and DDR5 - Staying far far away from this!
     
  5. GreatAuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Apr 2009

    Posts: 2,728

    Location: Warrington

    Sounds like a right compatibility mess... And it might be a bit of a conspiracy theory but actually the idea that some of the compatibility issues Intel is now causing and their solutions could be intentionally designed to cause AMD problems doesn't actually sound so far out... Ah well, time will tell.
     
  6. cliffy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,197

    1800X, 3900X and 5950X never had to disable SMT or had a problem with performance. If Intel are pushing out CPU's that are semi crippled in Windows 10 then it is a sham. Not surprising though as they worked with Microsoft and neither company have a stellar reputation for respecting the consumer. Same goes for needing to disable efficiency cores in Windows 11 for current and older games, probably new games to as i really cannot see developers bothering to jump through the hoops needed to get Alderlake working correctly on them, not for the minority that will be affected.

    Until the official reviews come out this is all conjecture but if true buying Alderlake would be a huge mistake. I wouldn't even buy the lower end SKU's that do not have efficiency cores out of principle
     
  7. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,894

    Location: Planet Earth

    So it avoids all the problems people are talking about then!
     
  8. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Mar 2012

    Posts: 39,317

    I hope all this crap puts people right off Windows 11. history would suggest it will.

    I mean Intel's glue being crap is an architectural choice by them because they can't keep up with AMD's glue, but Microsoft's broken scheduler is the reason AMD have to use their own through drivers to override the broken one in windows.
    It seems now its even more broken, Microsoft just don't learn, ever.....

    How can AMD write a better scheduler than Microsoft? its not even AMD's remit to do that....
     
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,382

    Location: Rutland

    Yes.
     
  10. Haz123

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2021

    Posts: 428

    Location: Leeds

    I have no need and no desire to upgrade for a good long while and I will not be touching Win 11 with a barge pole for over a year at least.

    Never listen to Intels marketing BS and wait for actual independent reviews.
     
  11. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,252

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Exactly this. On Linux AMD pulls code and is added straight away. End result, we have amazing governors (scheduler) utilizing whole CPU and even on the GPU front SAM support for all GCN 1.1 or later. On Windows is limited to RDNA1/2 and Vega because of the kernel apparently.

    I bet Linux won't have issue supporting very efficiently Alder Lake properly both small and big cores without sacrifices.
    Yet somehow on Windows we get compromises.
     
  12. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    Agreed - Windows 10 works perfectly so not worth fixing what works for me too!
     
  13. Jacky60

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jan 2010

    Posts: 1,338

    Location: Earth

    I'm remembering that 'turbo' button but I can't remember if it made any difference whatsoever. Pretty sure it didn't.
     
  14. Journey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,842

    Location: West Midlands

    It was more used to lower speeds for programs that were affected by too high a clock speed, which was still a thing back then. If something was written for a 16MHz CPU, and you had it on Turbo at 33MHz then the program would not run at the correct speed. Obviously that is just one example.
     
  15. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 9,196


    Not just SMt, but many people even disabled CCDs on ryzen to force games to only use good cores on the good ccd. Funny how things change
     
  16. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 9,196


    Why would not? The AMD fix has already been tested and now games are all faster in W11 than 10. Enjoy your lower performance
     
  17. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 20,887

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Only game I ever disabled SMT for was one of the older Farcry games as it performed much better. Suspect this will also end up being a mostly non issue. :)
     
  18. Freddie1980

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Sep 2009

    Posts: 7,765

    Location: Billericay, UK

    Can't say I'm worried. Big little is obviously the future of CPU's and will drive future performance improvements so I don't see why legacy software should stand in the way.
     
  19. darket

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jul 2011

    Posts: 1,883

    Location: Reading

    100% I remember back in the days of Win 98 people complaining about windows XP and Legacy software but windows needed to move on from its backbone of Msdos and it did. I'm a huge fan of retro gaming but i don't expect Amd or Intel to stifle or compromise development for legacy software.
     
  20. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Mar 2012

    Posts: 39,317

    Do you have a link for this? Serious question i'm interested.