1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet Help

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Erich Kriegler, Jun 19, 2013.

  1. Erich Kriegler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 24, 2012

    Posts: 1,312

    So if I plug an ethernet cable from my router to my computer the internet works. If I do the same for my brothers computer it doesn't.

    Any idea what it could be?
     
  2. Beerbaron

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 28, 2006

    Posts: 5,525

    Location: Herts

    Check his network settings.
    Is he using dhcp?
     
  3. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 18,569

    Location: UK

    'ipconfig /all' on your brothers computer from command prompt (start > run > cmd > enter) and paste results here.
    'ipconfig /all' on your computer from command prompt (start > run > cmd > enter) and paste results here.
     
  4. Erich Kriegler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 24, 2012

    Posts: 1,312

    Here's mine

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Shodan
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-89-A5-C5-52-F7
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a882:8999:6721:a33c%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.72(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 June 2013 08:24:51
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 June 2013 08:24:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 244091301
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-5B-03-A3-8C-89-A5-C5-52-F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.halls.manchester.ac.uk:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. Erich Kriegler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 24, 2012

    Posts: 1,312

    My brother's (the one that doesn't work)

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Hamachi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Hamachi Network Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7A-79-19-63-61-FD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1963:61fd(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2028:2c7c:2e1b:9d4%13(Pr
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 25.99.97.253(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.0.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 June 2013 11:18:36
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 June 2013 11:22:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2620:9b::1900:1
    25.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 25.0.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interf
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0DBD7D00-2C43-424C-8764-AA28BBAA55F6}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. ChocolateStarfishRammer

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 25, 2011

    Posts: 3,778

    Open Network Connections by clicking the Start button , clicking Control Panel, clicking Network and Internet, clicking Network and Sharing Center, and then clicking Manage network connections.

    Right-click the connection that you want to change (Hamachi Network Interface), and then click Properties. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

    Click the Networking tab. Under This connection uses the following items, click Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4), and then click Properties.

    Click Obtain an IP address automatically.

    Click Obtain DNS server address automatically, and then click OK.

    Should now work fine.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2013
  7. Erich Kriegler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 24, 2012

    Posts: 1,312

    Just had a look and it was already set to automatic.
     
  8. Erich Kriegler

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 24, 2012

    Posts: 1,312

    I've managed to fix it, I installed the ethernet drive again.
     


Share This Page