1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Is 8GB of Vram enough for the 3070

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by chaparral, 23 Oct 2020.

  1. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    Well for editing and content creation its not a surprise 8gb is not enough...
     
  2. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    Its not by me, I asked a youtuber to do benchmarks by using the new msi beta... I don't have any of these cards sadly..

    How has the 3070 been treating you though :p
    How did you get it so fast lol
     
  3. sedy25

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2020

    Posts: 187

    I failed to get a 3090 on launch and out of curiosity added a 3070 FE to cart and somehow managed to buy it, thought why not keep it lol. 2080 Ti perf for 1/3 is a win.
     
  4. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    True, what res are you at?

    At 1080p it should last 4+ years easily no issues for 90% of the games.

    at 1440p it should still last 4 years but maybe you will have to downgrade textures on some games that come out as true next gen in 2 years+
     
  5. sedy25

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2020

    Posts: 187

    I use an LG OLED 48CX for gaming, which it does fine at however I record video at 8K & 4K.
     
  6. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    Oh okay
     
  7. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,639

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Huh. So the 8gb 3070 is ripping through Doom Eternal at 4k with ultra nightmare settings, fancy that. I was told repeatedly that the 10Gb 3080 couldnt do it. hmm...
     
  8. sedy25

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2020

    Posts: 187

    Allocation doesn't = used
     
  9. sedy25

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2020

    Posts: 187

    Performance should also get better as driver optimisations progress.
     
  10. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,639

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Not me you need to be saying that to ;)
     
  11. sedy25

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Sep 2020

    Posts: 187

    Not really sure why they didn't do 3070 11gb, 3080 16gb and 3090 24gb, also pricing between 3070 and 3080 is extremely close...
     
  12. PrincessFrosty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Oct 2009

    Posts: 1,033

    Location: Norwich, UK

    Glad what I've been saying has been verified by another 3rd party. vRAM usage is almost always lower than what is allocated. The panic over vRAM being a limitation for Ultra settings and high resolution is unfounded.

    ;)
     
  13. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2008

    Posts: 19,940

    Location: London

    Yeah, it is Dave he should be telling it to, poor guy went 16gb radeon last gen to make sure he had enough and now cards like the 3070 are spanking his Radeon VII in every game with a measly 8Gb :p
     
  14. Satchfanuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Jun 2016

    Posts: 815

    Location: Lincoln

    A very subjective question... As you didn't state the use case I guess it could be more than enough if you're playing minesweeper or solitaire :D
     
  15. RanxZy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,182

    Location: South London

    Hey that's not fair! That was before RDNA2 :p
     
  16. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    Lol

    Yea the game allocates upto 9gb vram and creates a memory pool of 9 gigs.. Actual usage is 7.5gb and that too at ULTRA NIGHTMARE settings lol.
    If you have to go down a notch in a future game 2 years from now, it won't hurt your game visuals at all, just will reduce the vram usage.
     
  17. 4K8KW10

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 10,390

    It won't be in 2 years - AMD releases the new consoles this month and new games for them will be released soon. Let's hope the games need 14-15 GB of VRAM to fully utilise the available on the RX 6000 series.
     
  18. stooeh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,185

    Location: Riedquat system

    Lol
     
  19. RanxZy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jun 2009

    Posts: 2,182

    Location: South London

    This new gen for the consoles will last for roughly 6-7 years. NVIDIA have given the 3070 the minimum required in late 2020 for high quality textures imo which 8GB is. Not looking good going forward I think.
     
  20. Hickaru

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Sep 2020

    Posts: 128

    I really doubt games will be allocating that much, but let's see..

    for current gen at 4k the standard vram usage is like 6gb-8gb at ultra, next gen seems like it will be 8gb-12gb.

    I don't think 16gb will be utilised in any game for atleast another 6 years. That's just me looking at history and speculating, anything could happen...

    Games barely touch 8gb now and its the end of this console era where consoles had 8gb of shared ram.

    Consoles have 16gb this time, so i don't think 16gb will be used until 2025+