Is your business viable?

Caporegime
If you were to set up as a tradesperson in your area, how do you know if there's a place in the market for you?
Can you fill a niche in an already saturated market? Or can you offer a competitively priced service/product in a less fierce marketplace?

If you can answer one of those positively then crack on. If you can’t then is it actually a sensible proposition?

Soldato
OP
Can you fill a niche in an already saturated market? Or can you offer a competitively priced service/product in a less fierce marketplace?

If you can answer one of those positively then crack on. If you can’t then is it actually a sensible proposition?

Well I'm new to this, can you base a business like this on, 'i'll give it a go and see what happens' or do you need a full business plan with relavant market research ?

How do you know if the market is saturated etc?

Last edited:
Soldato
Depends what your trade is. If you're interested, do some research and find people's experience with it. Call current people doing whatever it is you're doing, pretend you might need a job doing, see how long it'd take and how busy they are. All really depends on what you're talking about.

Soldato
Follow local Facebook groups. If the same trades are constantly posting in every page then the market is saturated. If not, give it a try.

Create a basic plan, properly count out your expenses for living and working with the changes. Try to keep any startup costs to a minimum but invest in the right product and systems to work efficiently. If you have savings and can afford to give it a go, go for it.

Just remember your trade skills will only get you so far. How you present yourself and manage your business will do the rest.

Soldato
OP
Follow local Facebook groups. If the same trades are constantly posting in every page then the market is saturated. If not, give it a try.