1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD Lightgun? Yes please.

Discussion in 'Retro Gaming and Vintage Computing' started by Flibster, 15 Apr 2019.

  1. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Updates have now switched to here and are done weekly.

    They hope to complete all orders by the end of June, I think >#4000 starts soon or next week.
     
  2. maddog

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 969

    i've tried to set mine up for about 3 weeks now .its annoying far too complex and overall a very overrated experience. it works sometimes but there are too many variables. its gone in the draw of good ideas but too much messing about.
     
  3. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    I finally got my gun but still unable to play a game. The PC picks up the gun and I can calibrate but as soon as I launch a game in LB - no border appears and so the gun doesn't work.
     
  4. JoeBoi

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    Location: Northants

    Might be worth hoping on to the discord channel to troubleshoot. Out of interest what game are you trying to play and have you tried windowed rather than full screen?

    Edit: Just realised what LB is - Have you checked settings of the emulator to see if you can add a border in full screen mode?
     
    Last edited: 17 Jul 2021
  5. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Thank you. I have made some progress, but it's still not working. Found this guide and got the border working on in the Retroarch menus, but some button configs don't match the guide. And when I load Duck Hunt, no button works at all.
     
  6. JoeBoi

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    Location: Northants

    There is a guy on YouTube called Titch who does set up videos, might be worth checking out:

    https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLUVzir1WbNl5nFDQ1Njk4fuIZNLFU8d-S

    Failing that I'd recommend hopping on to the Sinden Discord channel, there are plenty of others who will be able to help out:

    https://discord.gg/AQE7EdfH
     
  7. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Thanks again, already working my through these videos. And here's me hoping I could get it all set up on a Pi for going to see a friend next weekend, I can't even get it to work on my HTPC :p:o.
     
  8. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Really not having any luck with this. Now trying it on my main rig as it's easier to set up (HTPC doesn't have a mouse or keyboard). The gun won't start, and when it tries to update the firmware, the program just closes part way through.

    Edit - joined the Discord channel.
     
    Last edited: 29 Jul 2021
  9. Chris [BEANS]

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Dec 2003

    Posts: 6,415

    Location: Bigger box!

    This thread is genuinely the reason I didn't get one, but actually sourced a brand new GunCon 2 and a refurbed PS2 so I can play Time Crisis and Virtua Cop again. I did intend to emulate and use the Sinden, but I don't think being an early adopter is the move. Bring on Sinden Mk 2!!
     
  10. Zatoichi.uK

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,469

    Sinden still doesn't have a retail release and doesn't even come with instructions so will be waiting myself. Seems to be taking a v long time tbh.
     
  11. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Mine is a late birthday present and we both knew it would require a little tinkering. I think I have definitely drawn the short straw, a mix of inaccurate tinkering and just bad luck (so far).

    It's currently my HTPC where the gun works but I have yet to get it working in an emulator vs my main rig where the gun doesn't get picked up/start*.........:cry:

    *leading theory is it's not getting enough power via USB but it still doesn't work with everything but the mouse unplugged.

    Edit - success. I have it working on one game on one emulator. Doing this on a per game basis is going to be fun lol!

    Edit - A few learning points...
    • It does not play well with RetroArch due to input config issues
    • I also had issues with MAME (crashed when launching a game) but Arcade64 worked fine
    • I still have no idea why the gun suddenly started working on my main rig - only changes I had made was a DX Endtime user update and my GFX card drivers (AMD)
    • You have to do a bit of .ini tweaking - one for the main MAME.ini to turn on a few gun features and then paste a second that came with the Siden software
    • Probably should have got the non recoil version as I haven't even got it to work yet, feel like it wouldn't add that much
     
    Last edited: 4 Aug 2021
  12. Ravenger

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jul 2010

    Posts: 3,469

    I watched a video on YouTube featuring Glen from Glen's Retro Show. He has made excellent modern reproductions of arcade peripherals including a Star Wars Yoke, a Tron joystick, and others. He said he's been working on a lightgun system for modern displays that doesn't require a light bar. It's nearly ready but the covid situation and the chip and component shortage means it's difficult to get it finished right now. Plus it's difficult to even get containers to ship the finished product too.

    I've got one of his Star Wars yokes and a button hole spinner and they're quality devices. If Glen says he's got a working lightgun, I believe him. Will be interesting to see how it turns out, as I'd love one for my Mame cab.
     
  13. WhistleBlower07

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Oct 2007

    Posts: 35

    I have it working fairly well in Retroarch, it works well when set to DX12/11.

    There was only one game I couldn't get working which was a Naomi game because it needed to go into the test menu, and for the life of me I couldn't seem to do it.

    Everything else works well..
     
  14. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Thank you, will have another bash with RA. Tinkering ahoy :).
     
  15. WhistleBlower07

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Oct 2007

    Posts: 35

    Mame, Duckstation, Dolphin, Flycast working great..
    Forgot what I used for the older consoles, it's been about a month since I last had a blast.

    Yeah, for some strange reason only DX11/12 works well.. as soon as you set it to that you will be able to shoot the calibration screens on Duckstation Time Crisis and Point Blank games.

    See how you go, if you struggle I will see if I can upload my Retroarch with ahk's to boot straight to games.

    Can't do it yet as I am recovering from illness, but have no problems doing that if you run into difficulty.
     
  16. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,398

    Location: London

    Thanks again and hope you get better soon!
     
  17. McBain

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,322

    Location: Lancs/London

    How authentic does the Sinden feel compared to the old school Time Crisis machine? I'm looking at buying a premade cabinet to try and get as close as possible, but looks like they only provide the Aimtrak guns which look a bit gash with the reticle on the screen.
     
  18. JoeBoi

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    Location: Northants

    I would imagine little will compare to those Namco arcade guns. I found the home experience lacking back in the day because of those light guns!

    However, I have seen kits you can buy for Gun4IR, which is an alternative to the Sinden but uses IR sensors. I have also heard these can have overheating issues. So might want to do some more research.



    Edit: This actually looks pretty amazing!
     
    Last edited: 15 Sep 2021
  19. Flibster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,327

    It's very good, but not perfect. Weight and construction of the gun is good. The recoil isn't as strong as there's less mass moving as the slide doesn't move. The trigger is...ok. it's just a small microswitch, it's pretty much like most home lightguns tbh. I'm thinking about trying to come up with a mod that will bring a more chunky feel.

    And I also hate the reticle on screen. Other than the white border, this is the best so far. Significantly better than the some of the IR or Wiimote based guns I've tried.
     
  20. McBain

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,322

    Location: Lancs/London

    Thanks both.