Leaving a long term job - be upfront or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Permabanned
I'm not a newbie to OCUK but I've no idea if anyone I work with knows my usual posting name, so just covering my tracks a little.

Anyway, I've come to the decision I need to find a new challenge work-wise. The big factor is I've had one job for over 20 years now (in IT) and always had the same boss :eek:

Now Mrs Mole thinks I should be upfront with my boss and tell him I'm looking for something new. I do have a good working relationship with my boss and he generally lets me get on with things, so perhaps honesty is the best policy. I would note Mrs Mole is public sector which might influence her thoughts (I'm private).

There are a couple of positions I'm very interested in at present but they might not come off. I am being picky over what I'd apply for (for now at least!), so it could be next year before the right job lands and it's offered to me. If that happens, I can almost see a weekly question from the boss asking if I'm leaving yet. I don't think it would do much good within my team if they knew and if I'm still there in six months or more, makes me look like I'm too fussy, have too high expectations or rubbish at interviews - I almost undermine myself.

I'm not sure there is a right answer here, but I'm very interested to hear if other OCUKers would keep quiet or be up front after so long with one (small) company...

Cheers!

Soldato