1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG Flatron M227WD - 1080p TV/Monitor mini review

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by elpedro, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. aGr

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 4, 2009

    Posts: 3

    Hey guys I have this monitor as well and I have two questions :).
    1) Frist is quite simple, how the hell can I sort the DVB channels?
    2) I tried to connect the auido system through SCART (see the picture), but when listening to DVB on higher volume I can hear murmur. Maybe better reduction or cables could help? Any idea?
    [​IMG]

    Thanks a lot for any ideas.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  2. elpedro

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 7, 2008

    Posts: 1,196

    Location: Surrey

    It is possible to get a DVI splitter to clone the display, an easy method, if your graphics card has two DVI outputs would be just to buy another DVI cable and select clone mode from the Nvidia control panel.

    The TV comes with a standard 3.5mm audio cable for use with the audio input on the TV. You can plug any standard 3.5mm device into this, whether that be audio from your PC, CD player, MP3 player etc.

    1. Connect your TV aerial cable to the back of the TV and go to setup from the menu and select auto tuning.
    2. Why not use the headphone jack on the side to output the audio?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2009
  3. aGr

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 4, 2009

    Posts: 3

    1) But thats how to tune. I want to sort (move) the already tuned channels. When you go to setup and select "Programme Edit" then you can move the TV channels thanks to the yellow button, but you cant do that with DTV channels!
    2) Yeah, thats true, it just look bit strange when theres a cable on the side... But I didnt realize, so thanks, Ill probably do it that way.
     
  4. junya

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2003

    Posts: 293

    thanks for the reply gent,

    have seen dvi splitters elsewhere for around £10, one does say a maximum resolution of 1024x768 which seems odd, why would a splitter cap my resolution?

    ok, my tv will be the other side of the room, so i will need to buy a longer 3.5mm cable, which connection would it go to on my pc, as my pc speakers are in the green one.

    might be silly, but is it possible to use my onboard vga to connect to the tv, whilst using my graphics card dvi for the pc, as for some reason all my card has is a dvi port.
     
  5. elpedro

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 7, 2008

    Posts: 1,196

    Location: Surrey

    You can set favourite channels that appear in the favourites list

    If you want your PC audio to go through the TV, you need to connect the audio from your PC (the green one) to the audio input on the back of the TV. This will then play the audio through the TV's speakers or anything connected to the headphone jack when in DVI/VGA mode.

    If I were you, I'd just buy a new graphics card with two DVI outputs. I don't think its possible to use on board and discrete graphics processing at the same time.

    My opinion, buy this http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-207-SP
     
  6. junya

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2003

    Posts: 293

    will using something like in the back of my pc be ok, so i do not need to keep changing the pc speakers for tv audio cable everytime i use either.

    3.5mm Stereo Plug to 2x3.5mm Stereo Socket

    yeah, think your suggestion of a new card may be easier, not really wanting to spend that much though as all i need it for is this task you see.

    thanks for your help by the way!
     
  7. aGr

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 4, 2009

    Posts: 3

    Yeah I know, but then if i press the "PR" button on remote it wont switch the channels in that order... It seems it cant be done, right?
     
  8. MrScott

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2004

    Posts: 416

    Location: Durham

    I've got one arriving on Tuesdy and will be trying it out with my Wii connected via component, can report back if you're still interested.
     
  9. avid fan

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2009

    Posts: 3

    Morning all,

    After reading this excellent thread (and a few others...) I bought one of these from Richer Sounds last week. Very impressed with the product in general, especially the picture and the incredibly easy set up.

    Had a couple of queries though:

    - I've got my tv on a wall bracket in a study/ dining room. I was wondering if anyone knows whether you can remove the 'neck' of the tv?

    - does the tv come with full instructions? Mine had a 'quick setup' sheet, and that was all I needed, but it doesn't go into much detail if I have more indepth queries (such as the one above!);)
     
  10. myrcea14

    Associate

    Joined: May 10, 2009

    Posts: 4

  11. avid fan

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2009

    Posts: 3

    Thanks - downloaded that!

    Strangely, in the section about wall mounting it shows how to take the base off but not the neck:( - even though the later pictures don't show the neck as it's hanging from the wall:confused:
     
  12. Perry

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 11, 2009

    Posts: 2

    hello

    This is unique review of this LCD and i like very much.

    I have one question :

    The image in TV is good ? i never seen this Lg works.


    Regards ;)
     
  13. EdGey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 21, 2008

    Posts: 8,061

    Location: England

    Hey guys,

    following from another thread, could somebody please confirm whether this monitor supports 1:1 pixel mapping or not?
     
  14. avid fan

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2009

    Posts: 3

    Having now had a chance to browse the instruction manual (gratefully linked b another poster), I’m none the wiser.

    Can anyone tell me how to make channels into ‘favourites’? (I assume this just means you can skip through to them quicker, like Sky?)

    Also, the manual seems to hint that you can actually save programmes for later viewing – making it sound like the tv’s got a hard drive???? This is new to me, but would be VERY helpful :)– can anyone advise either way.

    Any finally…still no clarification on whether the tv’s neck can be removed – anyone???:confused:
     
  15. davidcotton

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 2, 2002

    Posts: 155

    Location: UK

    That'd be great thanks.
     
  16. MrScott

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 26, 2004

    Posts: 416

    Location: Durham

    Right, got round to taking some pics - Wii menu and Mario Galaxy:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Basically it looks about as good as you could expect from 480p on an HDTV :p . The default picture settings on the component input make it look a bit pants, (oversaturated etc) but after some fiddling with contrast/colour/sharpness I'm pretty happy with how it looks. Aliasing is pretty noticable (depending on the game) but I'd pretty much expect that at 480p on a 1080p screen anyway.
     
  17. davidcotton

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 2, 2002

    Posts: 155

    Location: UK

    Very helpful, cheers.
     
  18. movingtables

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,267

    Location: TheWirral

    I sold mine on after a few months.
    I couldnt get use to the downsize from 26"

    nice screen but 21.5" is to small for me sadly.
     
  19. Tomsk

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,181

    Location: Overground, underground..

    I'm thinking about getting a couple of these for my setup.

    A question about the remote control.
    Can a single remote be used to control two monitors independantly?
    ie does the monitor/remote have alternative infra-red 'channels'?
     
  20. mec1

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 28, 2009

    Posts: 1

    I am excited about the M227WD as my next possible television. I have also seen an LG 23 inch. The code is M237WD in some places and M2394D in others. I assume these two codes are actually the same television. Anyway, I am wondering whether to go for one of these or for the M227WD. Does anyone know if they are exactly equivalent and only the screen size is 1.5 inch difference or if there are other differences? Pictures for the 23 inch seem to show a different proportion like 1050 rather than 1080, but all the specifications say 1080 standard proportion. I think the picture is for another model. The back view also shows a circular area for connections, which is a different shape to the 22 inch. The main thing I need to know is are there any differences besides the screen size? Is one model older (this was my suspicion about the 23 inch) or are there any functional, quality, or design differences? Pixel pitch and resolution appear to be slightly different, but I wonder if the difference is genuine and significant.

    Can anyone advise me? By the way, I read the whole of this thread with great interest (hope I didn't miss an answer to my question!) and I am amazed at the quality and style of help & advice people have offered here!