1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logitech G502 Proteus Core tunable 12,000 dpi gaming mouse

Discussion in 'Gaming Peripherals' started by RavenXXX2, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,321

    Location: North West

  2. H2F Scott

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,764

    Location: Liverpool

    "The sensor employs Logitech's Delta Zero technology which offers "unparalleled tracking performance and responsiveness," thanks to its zero sensor acceleration, zero smoothing or filtering, and zero pixel rounding config."

    This is a huge claim that I don't believe until I see tests
     
  3. Twirlywoos

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 8, 2010

    Posts: 10,271

    Location: UK

    Corded only? Whilst I live Logitech mice their lgs software is ****
     
  4. MrMarvelous

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 9, 2010

    Posts: 6,621

    Oh God, will this be the year that high DPI = better mouse?

    Here we go...
     
  5. H2F Scott

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,764

    Location: Liverpool

    However in this case they are claming that their new sensor is actually good. Not just "look at this dpi", but rather "look at how there's no accleration, smoothing, etc as well as whatever dpi you want". If what they are saying is true, then this could actually have the best sensor of any mouse to date.
     
  6. Make

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 28, 2013

    Posts: 1,217

    I like the look of this a lot. Seems to fit a fingertip grip too.
     
  7. Twirlywoos

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 8, 2010

    Posts: 10,271

    Location: UK

    And here lies the problem. How do you measure that or is it one person's opinion?
     
  8. Twirlywoos

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 8, 2010

    Posts: 10,271

    Location: UK




     
  9. thel33ter

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 9, 2013

    Posts: 233

    I really like the look of it, 12000dpi is nuts though, surely no one can actually use it on that setting?
     
  10. Make

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 28, 2013

    Posts: 1,217

    12000 on a 4K screen is probably 6000 on a 1080p screen, right?

    Or am I doing my maths wrong.

    I use about 5400 on a 1080p screen.
     
  11. Ryan-3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 14, 2009

    Posts: 7,553

    Location: Northumberland

    If this is as good as it's meant to be, i'll replace my G9x with it.

    But only because the scroll wheel has become impossible to click with - it has always been a bit of a pain though - and the feet are at the start of losing their slide. Plus, who doesn't want a new shiny mouse? :p
     
  12. B-Cool

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 28, 2011

    Posts: 36

    I was thinking this too, not that there's anything wrong with mine, but the Proteus is shinier and has more buttons.
     
  13. bishi

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2011

    Posts: 228

    So I want one... But 12000? After all the mice i've been through (most of them) I still end up using 700-1000 dpi because games / software / OS just don't work right if you set it higher.
    Still, Newer... Shinier...
     
  14. Shaade

    Associate

    Joined: May 14, 2013

    Posts: 7

    When will this mouse be available from OCUK?

    I don't see any mention of it on the site, and it became available from Newegg today 15/04/14.
     
  15. Tripnologist

    Mobster

    Joined: May 12, 2007

    Posts: 3,893

    Location: Bristol

    I'm intrigued by the 'zero pixel rounding config' and wonder if that means a high mouse dpi + low windows mouse sensitivity will be viable.

    I tried to use 8200 dpi and a lower windows setting and although it felt better and even more silky smooth than usual, something just wasn't right in-game.
    I was constantly missing shots that I could normally make with ease, so after allowing a few days for adjustment, I recording some gameplay and found that my shots were still spot on, but weren't registering. I switched back to my normal settings and everything was fine again.
     
  16. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,321

    Location: North West

  17. Twirlywoos

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 8, 2010

    Posts: 10,271

    Location: UK

    OCUK when you getting these in stock?
     
  18. Shaade

    Associate

    Joined: May 14, 2013

    Posts: 7

    I contacted them through the webnote feature and the reply was: "I dont have a definite answer for you, as we have heard nothing from the purchasing team as of yet."

    I've been on Logitech's own forums too, and apparently even Logitech themselves don't know when the mouse will be coming to the UK/EU...so, who knows how long we'll be waiting.

    You can always import one from the US though, if you don't mind the import charges.
     
  19. Stas823

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 7, 2012

    Posts: 1,128

    Location: In a house

    how much import charges these days on small items like that? its not still £20+?
     
  20. Shaade

    Associate

    Joined: May 14, 2013

    Posts: 7

    I live in Northern Ireland, so my charges are probably going to be different to that of mainland-UK - but here's what i'm getting:

    Newegg:
    Import Fee: £11.31
    Shipping: £10.86

    Amazon.com:
    Import Fee: £10.93
    Shipping: £5.19

    Amazon.com is cheaper obviously, but that's still an extra £16 over something i'd get from Amazon.co.uk :( But then maybe the mouse itself will be more expensive here when it's released, like computer hardware usually is.