Meraki AP 5ghz transmit power

Associate
Hi,

We have a number of Meraki MR42 APs. I have set the 2.4ghz target power to 13dbm and the 5ghz to 20dbm. I am getting 13dbm transmit power on 2.4ghz, but only 17dbm on 5ghz.

RF profile is set to AutoPower min and max 13dbm on 2.4ghz and 20dbm on 5ghz.

Anyone know how to get 20dbm transmit power on 5ghz?

Thanks

Soldato
Hi,
We have a number of Meraki MR42 APs. I have set the 2.4ghz target power to 13dbm and the 5ghz to 20dbm. I am getting 13dbm transmit power on 2.4ghz, but only 17dbm on 5ghz.
RF profile is set to AutoPower min and max 13dbm on 2.4ghz and 20dbm on 5ghz.
Anyone know how to get 20dbm transmit power on 5ghz?
Thanks

That is purely Tx from the unit itself. The unit is most likely self limiting to 23dB EIRP which would account for a 5.5dB gain antenna which a quick google suggested they have.

So to answer you, you can't operate it any higher than you are due to OFCOM rulings.

Associate
OP
OK thanks. I'm a relative noob to this mesh wifi stuff. I read that 5ghz transmit power should be around 6dbm+ higher than 2.4ghz so devices would give the 5ghz preference, and I didn't really want to lower the 2.4ghz transmit power any further.

Caporegime
Clients should self-select for 5GHz if the conditions are right. Cranking the Tx power up on an AP without knowing the RF environment you’re operating in is not going to be the magical fix for anything.

Associate
OP
Thanks for the pointers.

Just tried enabling band steering and users were reporting flaky wifi performance and drops, so reverted it back for now.

Associate
OP