1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Chromium Edge - Now Available to Download

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mrbell1984, Jan 15, 2020.

  1. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,230

    [​IMG]

    You can now get rid of your Internet Explorer, remove your Microsoft Edge
    ... and install the new Microsoft Chromium Edge.

    It's purely based off Chromium so it works with Chrome plugins and even some new ones!

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/edge
     
  2. IT Troll

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 15, 2005

    Posts: 2,434

    Location: Edinburgh

    Looks pretty decent. Available for all platforms, integrates well with Microsoft services and uses less RAM than Chrome or Firefox.
     
  3. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2004

    Posts: 19,958

    Location: England

    Given this supports Windows 7, the timing is a bit odd to say the least. :p
     
  4. Dave85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 18, 2004

    Posts: 8,496

    Location: Sunny Scotland

    Mine just shows chinese and the supposed fix did not work. They know it's a known bug its very strange.
     
  5. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 6,651

    Location: M28

    change it to English (UK) in edge://settings/languages

    英语(英国)- put a check in the box then restart.

    Figured this out all on my own :)
     
  6. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 28,055

    Location: Dormanstown.

    To me this is still a beta product considering they've still got a whole host of sync features that say "coming soon" lol.
     
  7. stockhausen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2006

    Posts: 10,354

    Quite . . . . Microsoft needs dem guinea pigs ;)
     
  8. mid_gen

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 20, 2004

    Posts: 9,002

    Best thing about switching to Edge imo is still the AdBlocker on the android version.

    Just switched over to release Edge and pleasantly surprised how it is now compared to the earlier betas.
     
  9. jpaul

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 9,522

    wow - when edge didn't

    wouldn't you use Ublock origin ? or, is it imasculated inside edge, which google/chrome is planning to do , by changing the API, and trying to force you to use 'their' Adblocker.
     
  10. mid_gen

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 20, 2004

    Posts: 9,002

    I couldn't find a way to use adblockers on Chrome for Android. Edge has adblock plus on the android version.
     
  11. Dave85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 18, 2004

    Posts: 8,496

    Location: Sunny Scotland

    Thanks for this got it working now :)
     
  12. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,230

    There are 4 things that requires to be turned on "History, Open Tabs, Extensions and Collections" Hardly anything to worry about as a product. You could say that these are features ready to be turned on soon. It's out of beta that's why it was released yesterday. You could say that about any product.
     
  13. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 11, 2009

    Posts: 14,216

    Location: Havering

    Kiwi for Android has full desktop extensions support including uBlock Origin. ABP in Edge works but lacks a lot of features the full version has. Although Kiwi does lack sync.

    However there's nothing changed with Edge for Android, it's always been based on Chromium. This release is mainly for PC, which is now in line with the Android version.
     
  14. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 30, 2005

    Posts: 11,683

    Oh come on....this is Microsoft, you know they never think things through :p

    I read the white paper this morning. It clearly states "installation of the new Edge will automatically hide the old one". Nope, no it doesn't
     
  15. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,230

    They haven't done themselves any favours getting people to move from windows 7, they should put incentives on a lot more than now to get people to move over. I think it might be down to security that they decided to put MCE onto 7.

    I removed IE+Edge anyway from the systems I have installed MCE onto so it's all good.
     
  16. jpaul

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 9,522

    or, they are, and its a harvesting opportunity ?
     
  17. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,230

    yep and this, how could i forget.
     
  18. jpaul

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 9,522

    before installing browsers, first thing to do, like windows, ("I'm catching the sightlines and looking for an exit" ) is find out how to disable auto updates;
    with the investment of time, I don't want to, next day, find invalidated extensions, or just instability.
     
  19. metachi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 2, 2005

    Posts: 1,984

    Location: South Birmingham

    i've installed the new edge, how do i sign in with google account like chrome?
     
  20. melmac

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2010

    Posts: 7,192

    Installed this today and I like it. Much better than the old Edge.