1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Microsoft Windows 11 Thoughts & Discussion Thread ***

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Bouton Aide, 3 Jun 2021.

  1. jim5000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,007

    Location: UK

    The new star menu and overall UI really hasn’t been thought through at all
     
  2. Phil2008

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 8,509

    Ive retreated back to win10 for the time being, just over niggly things like, the calendar wont work and I cant use a app that stops windows from sleeping when streaming media to other devices.. Plus win11 doesn't offer any benefit for the gamer atm, so I might stay on win10 till Im forced to upgrade.
     
  3. Stretlow

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Aug 2013

    Posts: 447

    Still using it as a daily driver since the early builds, there definitely are some niggles but no show stoppers imo

    Been playing death stranding recently

    Getting 100fps @4k and maxing my [email protected] 120fps on dlss quality.

    The only thing I can't figure is why my speaker is no longer detected through usb

    Can't see me going back to ten now
     
  4. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,600

    Location: Westchestershire

    My question is about Windows 11 but not the x86-64 version - ARM version.

    Does anyone know if the ARM version is a much more solid codebase, i.e. doesn't contain the years and years of legacy guff that plagues x86 for compatibility and therefore should be quicker? It doesn't make much difference to me as I can't run it (yet) but one day it could work with Mx silicon Mac computers.
     
  5. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,387

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    I doubt it - it will be more likely any particularly key bits of code have been rewritten to ARM, anything non critical is likely still the x86-64 code being emulated
     
  6. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,600

    Location: Westchestershire

    Yeah, I forgot about that emulation stuff. So probably slower overall.
     
  7. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    There's a lot of things broken. I just opened outlook on my laptop there and it started doing auth loops flashing windows like as if they where popups open/close/open/close and it wouldn't stop. (exchange account)

    Just on removing office completely with the office uninstall tool to reinstall it.
     
  8. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,466

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Second gripe..

    The context menu in Explorer has changed, things like 7zip aren't there by default, you have to click 'Show More Options' or open it using Shift + F10 (or the context menu key on keyboard). Seems an odd thing to not be optional :/
     
  9. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,387

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Allegedly apps will be able to add things to the new menu soon (although quite what the benefit of the new menu really is then)

    I dislike the new menu, the stupid little icons for cut/paste, and the unreasonable amount of padding/white space in it, compared to the original menu.
     
  10. StrongSad

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2011

    Posts: 3,023

    Do group policy rules migrate or will I have to go through them all again?

    I suspect I will be a late adopter for this, as I hate change :D
    However, might make a duel boot just in case they pull the rug and want to charge later down the line.
     
  11. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    7zip will probably fix that, that's if microsoft hasn't locked it.
     
  12. Vimes

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,180

    Location: Earth, for now


    That was an issue for me. Overall I was ok until I tried to extract a file and expect to see Winrar options. I have now returned the right click context menu back to the previous version......

    https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/how-to/windows-11-classic-context-menus


    the above worked for me.
     
  13. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,387

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Can't imagine that workaround staying working forever, and yet another reason not to move to Window 11, if you only end up making it look like 10 :)
     
  14. Donnie Fisher

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Jun 2018

    Posts: 1,234

    Location: Doon the watah ... Scotland

    Been running it for a while now. No issues in terms of it breaking / crashing / reliability. I really like the new look to the UI as well.

    however,

    as mentioned many times above, the UI method of working is just soo frustrating at times. The new right menu sucks big time, drag to taskbar going … basically lots of good usability has gone.

    sure, simplify it for new users, but good grief give power users the ability to work the system. How about an ability to chose what is on the short context menu and what is on the expanded ? Best of both worlds
     
  15. IT Troll

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,644

    Location: Edinburgh

    Upgraded without issue, now fighting with the UI changes:
    • Horrible Start Menu - no option to create app groups, just a mess of 18 pinned apps. It looks like a third-party replacement is the only option.
    • No Taskbar Toolbars - I particularly miss having an active Recycle Bin in the System Tray.
    • Spatial Sounds - Now buried six clicks deep in Settings, no shortcut for a quick enable/disable.
    • Context Menus - Third-party apps now relegated to a legacy menu with a completely different menu style. This should however improve as apps are updated to use the new method.
     
  16. Donnie Fisher

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Jun 2018

    Posts: 1,234

    Location: Doon the watah ... Scotland

    The whole legacy thing is annoying / jarring now when you see a dialogue box pop up with it ... particularly when its a microsoft program that does it. You would think they would have managed to sort those out by now.
     
  17. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    How about NanaZip? a fork of 7Zip? It adds the context menu back so it's possible.

    https://github.com/M2Team/NanaZip
    https://www.microsoft.com/store/productId/9N8G7TSCL18R
     
  18. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 89,418

    Location: South Coast

    Or just get the OG context menu back properly :p

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Fubsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Dec 2003

    Posts: 9,927

    Location: Berkshire

    Where is my 3D Objects shortcut. Disgraceful. I used that a lot...
     
  20. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    Might as well go back to windows 10 if you going to start and modify it to look like windows 10.