*** Microsoft Windows 11 Thoughts & Discussion Thread ***

Associate
Joined
24 Mar 2006
Posts
1,008
Location
UK
Yep, looking like I can't do that.

Here's what my start menu currently looks like:

Vb5kjVN.png


I don't need or want anything else pinned there particularly. I have taskbar and desktop shortcuts for anything else that's used frequently, and the all apps page (which, while I'm ranting and raving, also has a bunch of wasted space since it remains at the full width of the start menu when you click into it!) for anything used infrequently. That's a lot of screen real estate being used for five shortcuts, four if I remove the Task Manager one now that I'm training my brain to right-click the start button instead of the taskbar.

Genuinely don't get how that's an improvement on the 10 menu. I'd have 8/8.1's start screen back over this, at least there were third party tools to make custom launcher tiles for it...
The new star menu and overall UI really hasn’t been thought through at all
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Dec 2004
Posts
8,534
Ive retreated back to win10 for the time being, just over niggly things like, the calendar wont work and I cant use a app that stops windows from sleeping when streaming media to other devices.. Plus win11 doesn't offer any benefit for the gamer atm, so I might stay on win10 till Im forced to upgrade.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Aug 2013
Posts
454
Still using it as a daily driver since the early builds, there definitely are some niggles but no show stoppers imo

Been playing death stranding recently

Getting 100fps @4k and maxing my [email protected] 120fps on dlss quality.

The only thing I can't figure is why my speaker is no longer detected through usb

Can't see me going back to ten now
 
Caporegime
Joined
28 Oct 2003
Posts
29,967
Location
W'stchestershire
My question is about Windows 11 but not the x86-64 version - ARM version.

Does anyone know if the ARM version is a much more solid codebase, i.e. doesn't contain the years and years of legacy guff that plagues x86 for compatibility and therefore should be quicker? It doesn't make much difference to me as I can't run it (yet) but one day it could work with Mx silicon Mac computers.
 
Don
Joined
19 May 2012
Posts
13,938
Location
Spalding, Lincolnshire
My question is about Windows 11 but not the x86-64 version - ARM version.

Does anyone know if the ARM version is a much more solid codebase, i.e. doesn't contain the years and years of legacy guff that plagues x86 for compatibility and therefore should be quicker? It doesn't make much difference to me as I can't run it (yet) but one day it could work with Mx silicon Mac computers.

I doubt it - it will be more likely any particularly key bits of code have been rewritten to ARM, anything non critical is likely still the x86-64 code being emulated
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,287
Location
127.0.0.1
There's a lot of things broken. I just opened outlook on my laptop there and it started doing auth loops flashing windows like as if they where popups open/close/open/close and it wouldn't stop. (exchange account)

Just on removing office completely with the office uninstall tool to reinstall it.
 
Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,519
Location
Parts Unknown
My only gripe so far with Windows 11 is not being able to tick a box or reg entry that says 'always display all taskbar items', now you have to manually set them; annoying.

Second gripe..

The context menu in Explorer has changed, things like 7zip aren't there by default, you have to click 'Show More Options' or open it using Shift + F10 (or the context menu key on keyboard). Seems an odd thing to not be optional :/
 
Don
Joined
19 May 2012
Posts
13,938
Location
Spalding, Lincolnshire
The context menu in Explorer has changed, things like 7zip aren't there by default, you have to click 'Show More Options' or open it using Shift + F10 (or the context menu key on keyboard). Seems an odd thing to not be optional :/

Allegedly apps will be able to add things to the new menu soon (although quite what the benefit of the new menu really is then)

I dislike the new menu, the stupid little icons for cut/paste, and the unreasonable amount of padding/white space in it, compared to the original menu.
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Oct 2011
Posts
3,046
Do group policy rules migrate or will I have to go through them all again?

I suspect I will be a late adopter for this, as I hate change :D
However, might make a duel boot just in case they pull the rug and want to charge later down the line.
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,287
Location
127.0.0.1
Second gripe..

The context menu in Explorer has changed, things like 7zip aren't there by default, you have to click 'Show More Options' or open it using Shift + F10 (or the context menu key on keyboard). Seems an odd thing to not be optional :/

7zip will probably fix that, that's if microsoft hasn't locked it.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Oct 2005
Posts
5,259
Location
Earth, for now
Second gripe..

The context menu in Explorer has changed, things like 7zip aren't there by default, you have to click 'Show More Options' or open it using Shift + F10 (or the context menu key on keyboard). Seems an odd thing to not be optional :/


That was an issue for me. Overall I was ok until I tried to extract a file and expect to see Winrar options. I have now returned the right click context menu back to the previous version......

https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/how-to/windows-11-classic-context-menus


the above worked for me.
 
Don
Joined
19 May 2012
Posts
13,938
Location
Spalding, Lincolnshire
Associate
Joined
22 Jun 2018
Posts
1,291
Location
Doon the watah ... Scotland
Been running it for a while now. No issues in terms of it breaking / crashing / reliability. I really like the new look to the UI as well.

however,

as mentioned many times above, the UI method of working is just soo frustrating at times. The new right menu sucks big time, drag to taskbar going … basically lots of good usability has gone.

sure, simplify it for new users, but good grief give power users the ability to work the system. How about an ability to chose what is on the short context menu and what is on the expanded ? Best of both worlds
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Jun 2005
Posts
2,644
Location
Edinburgh
Upgraded without issue, now fighting with the UI changes:
  • Horrible Start Menu - no option to create app groups, just a mess of 18 pinned apps. It looks like a third-party replacement is the only option.
  • No Taskbar Toolbars - I particularly miss having an active Recycle Bin in the System Tray.
  • Spatial Sounds - Now buried six clicks deep in Settings, no shortcut for a quick enable/disable.
  • Context Menus - Third-party apps now relegated to a legacy menu with a completely different menu style. This should however improve as apps are updated to use the new method.
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,287
Location
127.0.0.1
Top