• i7 6820HK
• NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
• 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD
• 1TB HDD
• 16GB 2400MHz DDR4
• Windows 10 Home (64-Bit)

AORUS X5V6 Official site

Drivers and Apps

I’ve never written a review before, mainly because I never been that impressed with any of my purchases. They lived up to expectation but never surpassed.

I’d waited quite a while to for Pascal to upgrade from my Maxwell GTX 980M (that’s another story….).

I bought my X5 from overclockers and got it next day Saturday delivery, I don’t do waiting!

Zkb3UzEl.jpg
cVbEPApl.jpg
tCJBxF7l.jpg
StnGrlbl.jpg
StnGrlbl.jpg

It arrived securely packaged within 3 separate boxes.

First thoughts:
Man, this is tiny!! Coming from a 17.3” behemoth to this lithe and light 15.6”. It’s way compact.
It’s fast! Boot times are immeasurable (OK, they’re not really but sub 10 seconds is just bloody fast).
Build quality feels strong with a mix of metals and plastics, minimal plastics.

Keyboard feels great to type and game on, enough key travel to satisfy. If you need to type for long periods (as occasionally do) it’s comfortable and key resistance is firm and satisfying.

Per key RGB backlighting:

EV0WGxMl.jpg
5LSud4Ll.jpg
ti5A3Yul.jpg

I have used block/entire backlit keyboard before, but this individual key backlighting is stunning. Masses of customisation option within the AORUS Fusion app. Light just the keys you use in a game and store that set up for that game, then store other key setups for other games. The Fusion app also allows key binding macros to shortcut as you need (not a feature I’ve used before but will certainly give it a try.

So far using the keyboard I haven’t missed a stroke or had a typo (if you spot any in this review don’t tell me :p ).

9dgzmI1l.jpg
XoYlEOql.jpg
nTZm02yl.jpg