1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving from a 1tb standard drive to a 1tb SSD - Do I just clone?

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by NeilFawcett, May 15, 2018.

  1. NeilFawcett

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 15, 2003

    Posts: 12,966

    Location: Marlow

    So planning on changing the main drive in my PC (which is partitioned into a C & D drive) to an SSD instead.

    Do I literally just run Macrium Reflect and clone from the old to the new one? And there will obviously be slght differences in size, so at least one partician will end up beign slight bigger/small than before, so how does that get done?

    And no issue cloning to the new SSD in an external closure and then once done simply putting it in the PC in place of the old HDD?
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  2. linktoinsanity

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 5, 2008

    Posts: 8,371

    Location: Kent

    Yep, easy as that. Which OS are you running, Windows 10? If so it should pick up that it is now residing on an SSD and change the TRIM settings automatically. You can manually do this if it does not.
     
  3. NeilFawcett

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 15, 2003

    Posts: 12,966

    Location: Marlow

    Yes, on latest Windows 10...

    TRIM settings?
     
  4. linktoinsanity

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 5, 2008

    Posts: 8,371

    Location: Kent