Moving into consultancy/interim

Soldato
Evening chaps, Happy New Year and all that. I'm looking for a bit of advice from thems what know. I'm currently working in London as a Procurement Business Partner earning about £40k p/a but with a CARE pension which is a big addition.

In the new year I should finally be MCIPS qualified which is quite a big thing for those in the industry and I'm giving some consideration to moving into contracting, working on an interim basis. The main draw being that if I can achieve £300/£350 as a day rate (think I should be able to but will do some checking as stage one) my take home will be the equivalent of a salary of about £70-80k.

I'm going to start talking to a few recruitment consultants I work with to get some ideas. Difficulty is this would be a big step and one that I have no experience of, and would likely involve setting myself up as a business and getting an accountant etc.

Are there any folks around who have done similar who can offer any pearls of wisdom, things to consider, words of encouragement or warning? Any discussion would be really useful as I am keen to start the next step of my career.

Associate
Definitely worth looking through contractor UK forums. Lots of very knowledgeable people.

There's lots to think about but two key ones when thinking about how much you'll earn. VAT, and putting money aside for those periods you're between contacts.

You should plan on working 230 days a year (holidays, sickness, Christmas are not paid remember), and put a chunk aside each month for those times looking for a contract. The company I'm doing work for at the moment have an enforced 3 week furlough for contractors over Christmas for example.

The requirement to register for VAT starts at 82k I seem to remember - if you earn over this, you may see 20% of your cash go to the government before you've paid other taxes!