1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multi Monitor Setup

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by NickM, 7 Jun 2010.

  1. NickM

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,588

    Ok, at the moment I have dual monitors running off the 2 DVI ports on my gfx card.
    Now I'm about to purchase a large TV and want to hook it up to my PC to watch movies etc, how do I go about doing this as both ports are being used? Do I need another gfx card?

    Thanks
     
  2. chrisxuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: ctf_2Fort

    You can get splitters like in the image. However I'm not sure if these just duplicate the image over two displays, or allow for the two monitors to show different images.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,586

    If its just movie watching you want to use the tv for I would be tempted to get a basic low end card - thereby not affecting your main dual monitor setup by continually changing back and forth

    edit - this info is more valid pre Win7 (I havent tried multi monitor setups recently so maybe different configs are easier to manage with newest OS)
     
    Last edited: 7 Jun 2010
  4. NickM

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,588

    It is windows 7 - I'm sure I remember some kind of external splitter device that allows people to use 3 monitors off one gfx card being mentioned in the Multi Monitor Setup thread but I cant find it (I assume if it can do 3 monitors it could do 2 monitors and 1 TV).
     
  5. Clive Dunn

    Associate

    Joined: 16 Aug 2003

    Posts: 16

    Google dvi switch box, get a 2 port one. Then have the main monitor one cable, with the second monitor and TV off the other.

    I think that works ? Sound will be interesting.
     
  6. NickM

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,588

    I'm already using an HDMI switch box to hook up my xbox/laptop to the same monitor (different setup) and its annoying because it moves my desktop icons around/sometimes screws up the resolution so I'd rather have a dedicated way of having all 3 connected at the same time.

    Sound isn't a problem as I already have the sound from my computer hooked up to my hifi.
     
  7. whitecrook

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Aug 2005

    Posts: 8,843

    Location: Clydebank

    Use a splitter if you monitor runs at the same res as your TV, or get an additional gfx card, or deal with juggling icons and stuf about.
     
  8. Alfie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Dec 2008

    Posts: 1,620

    Location: Sheffield

    I have just asked the same question except I have a spare HDMI port. Can I run three monitors like this (all same res) even though i'm not using eyefinity?
     
  9. NickM

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2003

    Posts: 2,588

    Ahh managed to find what I was originally looking for: http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/. Starting to think that a 2nd dedicated graphics card for the TV would be better.

    So, spec me a cheap graphics card that can run HD & BluRay on a 42-50" TV, (currently running an Nvidia 8800).