My Current Build - Looking for Upgrade Tips

Associate
First off, thank you for your anticipated support guys. I am a self-taught techno noob, who managed to build his PC (hardware) but I try to avoid the software side of things.

Anyway, please can you inspect my current build and advise on upgrades.
My ambition is for a PC to support high-end gaming, streaming and rendering of gaming videos (30-minutes long).

Current Build:
Asus VE278H 27-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI)
ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER & ThermalTake Contac21 Cooler
INTEL Core i7 4790K OC 4.5Ghz - This came pre-overclocked by a manufacturer, however, I believe I messed with some Bios settings and reset it to 4.0Ghz. Oops.
HyperX FURY Series 8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz CL10 DIMM Memory Module
ASUS STRIX-GTX 960-DC2OC-2GD5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2 GB Graphics Card
EVGA Supernova 850W Power Supply Unit
Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB 2.5 inch Solid State Drive - For OS and a select few games.
SanDisk Ultra II SSD 960 GB SATA III 2.5 inch Internal SSD

I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Regards,

DC

Soldato
I would upgrade to a GTX 1070 - a bit overkill at 1080p but would max out all and future games and will help with your streaming.

I would recommend 16GB memory for your spec too - more for the gaming aspect but will probably have positive knock on effects for your streaming too - and may help a bit with rendering but it's all about the CPU.

EDIT: And welcome to the forums.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Good morning,

Thank you for the proper introductions to the forum.

I will investigate the GTX 1070.

May I ask your opinion on the RAM Mhz?
My Motherboard on ASUS website claims only to take DDR3 up to 3300(OC) Mhz, any thoughts around this and what Mhz RAM I should take.

Thank you for your help.

Regards,

DC

Soldato
INTEL Core i7 4790K OC 4.5Ghz - This came pre-overclocked by a manufacturer, however, I believe I messed with some Bios settings and reset it to 4.0Ghz. Oops.