My New System Your Opinions Please

Associate
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
Im about to build a new system which for the first time I wish to overclock, heres the specs:

Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4ghz - Skt775 Fsb1066 4mb Cache Boxed

Intel Extreme D975bx-305 975X (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-010-IN)

Western Digital Raptor 36GB WD360ADFD 10,000RPM SATA 16MB Cache - OEM (HD-095-WD)

G.Skill 2GB DDR2 NR PC2-6400 (2x1GB) CAS5 Dual Channel Kit (F2-6400PHU2-2GBNR) (MY-014-GS)

BFG Ageia PhysX Accelerator Retail box

ATI Radeon X1950 XT-X

LiteOn DRW-6S160P-05C 16x DVD+/-RW DL Black Bare Drive

Swiftech H20-220 Apex Ultra+ Watercooling Kit (Socket 462/478/LGA775/754/939/940) (WC-021-SW)

Thermaltake VA9000BWS Kandalf Full Tower - Black (CA-005-TT)

OCZ GameXStream 600W PSU - 120mm Fan SLI Ready ATX12v v2.2


I know the E6600 can only be clocked to around 3Ghz per core but I want it as it has more cache, Ive also heard a lot of discusion on the physX card but Im a UnReal fan and cant wait to use it with **2007.

The thing I would like your opinion on the most is the motherboard, I want a good overclocking board and this was on the main shop page as a good overclockable board but I cant find many reviews on it. I was swayed towards an Asus P5W64-WS Pro until I read there was a lot of compatability issues with ram and raid.

And in all will this be a good system worth the £1500 Im spending on it?
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Jun 2004
Posts
4,201
Location
Middlesex, London
That spec is lovely - Except that I would advise you to go for a P965 Board..

Something like the Gigabyte DS4 or Asus P5B-Deluxe...

also - Go go for the G-Skill 6400HZ Ram.

...and cos you'll be using water cooling - you should be able to go a lot further than 3Ghz..... More like 3.5-3.6Ghz ;)

One last tip - When you get your board - Make sure you flash to the latest Bios.
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
by P965 I asume you mean the Intel DP965LT 965 which is half the price? does this board suport high fsb for overclocking?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
ok then I have the choice of: Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3, Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 or Gigabyte GA_965P_DQ6. Money is no object with these boards as there all in my price range the only thing I was confused at was that overclockers has commented the cheaper one as a good over clocker but I would have thought the more expensive would give me better speed, what do you sugest?
 
Associate
Joined
21 Aug 2006
Posts
1,908
Location
Stafford
Id go for

GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2 at £10 more (cas4)

Id also go for

Asus P5W DH Deluxe WiFi at £15 less

The '975' works better than the '965' on 6600, 6700 chipsets
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Jun 2004
Posts
4,201
Location
Middlesex, London
wizardmaxx said:
Id go for

GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2 at £10 more (cas4)

Id also go for

Asus P5W DH Deluxe WiFi at £15 less

The '975' works better than the '965' on 6600, 6700 chipsets

I think you'll now find that the 6600's are clocking further on the 965 boards ;)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
sp should I go for Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 or Gigabyte GA_965P_DQ6? or does it not really matter? I want to be able to overclock everything in mysystem well so dont want to find out ive bought the wrong board and everythings only running at stock
 
Associate
Joined
21 Aug 2006
Posts
1,908
Location
Stafford
Overclocking wise, probably DS3, but personally id take the DQ6, more substantial power supply, heatpipe cooling, etc. U might find that as the bios issues get sorted the DQ6 make become a better overclocker than the DS3.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Apr 2003
Posts
1,805
Location
Manchester
You've not mentioned your monitor but if you have high res capabilities, I would go for 2 x X1900-XT's in crossfire rather than the X1950 and the Physx card. Would be similar in price.

You would need the 975 chipset though atm
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
Well Ive decided to go for the Asus P5B Deluxe. After the help of this thread and an awsum reveiw on custompc Ive came to the conclusion that that board performes the best and acording to custompc it beats all the others and outperforms them in most benchmarks, although ive read its not that good for crossfire as it slows the pci-e to 8x that doesnt bother me as Im only using the one card. They clocked an E6700 at 3.3ghz with a £20 CPU HSF so with my watercooling I should be able to go further.

Thanks for your help
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
My monitors a Prolite E435S 17" with DVI input and a 10ms response time although the review I have read has made me want that board as im not really all that bothered on the crossfire aspect,
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
Will do that for sure.

acording to the boards site it is Kingston® HyperX® PC2-8500 Ready (default overclock at 1066 MHz)
 
Associate
Joined
4 Apr 2003
Posts
1,805
Location
Manchester
dosk3n said:
My monitors a Prolite E435S 17" with DVI input and a 10ms response time although the review I have read has made me want that board as im not really all that bothered on the crossfire aspect,

yes, crossfire would be a waste on a 17" tft
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Sep 2006
Posts
41
after that comment and since a friend wants my monitor Ive decided to buy a Hyundai ImageQuest N91W 19" Widescreen LCD Monitor, reading through the forums it seems a decend screen. and becasue of lack of games titles on the physX card thats coming in the future I am now thinking about crossfire, so would crossfire be a bonus with this screen?
 
Associate
Joined
4 Apr 2003
Posts
1,805
Location
Manchester
dosk3n said:
after that comment and since a friend wants my monitor Ive decided to buy a Hyundai ImageQuest N91W 19" Widescreen LCD Monitor, reading through the forums it seems a decend screen. and becasue of lack of games titles on the physX card thats coming in the future I am now thinking about crossfire, so would crossfire be a bonus with this screen?

imo, it would still be kind of a waste as the max res is only 1440 x 900 which a single x1950 should handle quite easily. You really need to be going above 1600x1200 (or 1680x11050 iwidescreen) to get the benefit. i.e you want a 20" plus monitor.
 
Back
Top Bottom