Need help absolute newbie

Soldato
Welcome to the forum.

New AMD Ryzen processors and motherboards will be announced in about 10 days or so, with the actual release in the following weeks. A Ryzen "3300X" 6 core could be as low as $130 and make a great fit for the budget you mention. So if you can wait, wait. If not, let us know.

Meantime, more details would be good - have a monitor already? If so which brand and model. Does it have any Gsync or Freesync. If it's your first PC the answer is probably no but now and then a first timer will surprise with: "Yes got a Gsync" lol.

Retail copy of Windows will cut into that budget by a ton, making it a pointless purchase, i.e. had you saved up a bit more money then you'd have bought something worth it. So add that cost on top, not included in budget. Or better yet, install Windows yourself, and start using it free while you look for a cheap key. Search online for more info on this.

Soldato
Can you even get prebuilt gaming boxes that actually can game for 500 folded pictures of her Maj?

Prices are good just now, and the AMD GPU game bundle if sold can help.

My basket at Overclockers UK:
Total: £361.20 (includes shipping: £12.30)​

For CPU, OcUK can add a quad core eight thread Ryzen 2500X if requested, for £120. Or can take advantage of Ryzen 2600 at £140 just now, which would come with a second game bundle.

+ build fee

- game bundle or 2 game bundles

= ~£500 depending on build fee. Assuming a £50 build fee (which isn't cast in stone) for a budget PC like that, you could get £80 for selling both game bundles and end up below £500. Even if you decide no, want the cheaper CPU and I'll keep the one game bundle, it won't be far over £500.

Small SSD which I don't like to spec if I can help it. But budget is budget, it'll hold a few games and more storage can always be added.