Need to get on the property ladder (22)

Soldato
Im 22, just finished uni (HND) and have gone into a 14K job (Which i enjoy, the pay is low but thats because i was a uni student with no experience).

I live at home at the moment, i dont have any money saved up (well 1k but that is towards the 4k student loan i have to repay). Im paying £130 per month rent at home.

At some point i want my own place, probably sharing a 2 bedroom house with a mate or something.

I want to get a mortage rather that rent, i want something to come out of the end of it. I know i cant afford it yet, well, i probably could but its doubtful i would have any money to spend/wont be able to get to work. The other thing im worried about is being able to afford a deposit, id probably have to say for 2 years.

Man of Honour
Blow all your money on cool stuff like cars instead, you've got the rest of your life to pay council tax bills and contemplate who is the best household gas supplier as well as chosing soft furnishings.

Soldato
think realistically you'll need to save for a while.

Also any chance you are able not to pay your parents rent so you can save the extra £130 for yourself asa deposit for a house ?

Permabanned
[TW]Fox said:
Blow all your money on cool stuff like cars instead, you've got the rest of your life to pay council tax bills and contemplate who is the best household gas supplier as well as chosing soft furnishings.

"Fancy a cruise round town in my posh motor love? Afterwoods, we can go back to my Mum and Dads and creap round trying not to wake them up".

Soldato
starscream said:
"Fancy a cruise round town in my posh motor love? Afterwoods, we can go back to my Mum and Dads and creap round trying not to wake them up".

Pff. Have you seen the size of his parents' pad?

He probably just takes them to the west wing instead.

Soldato

Use a Hotel.
Then she won't find out where you live. :D

Soldato
Get a rolex. £1000
Get some nice clothes. £200
Hire a Porsche for the day. £200