New gaming build + ECC memory

Associate
Hey! I'm interested in building my own system but I have never done it before - I'm looking to build something that can run VR on a budget of £700-1000 (not including keyboard, monitor etc.).. ideally closer to £700 though! It would be fantastic if someone could give me a bit of advice on components for this price range (I will only be using it for gaming, though not just VR).

I have one specific question which may be a really stupid one... I have a computer with way more RAM than it needs and I was thinking of taking 2-4 of the 8GB RAM cards out to save a bit on the build cost, but it's ECC RAM (or I'm 90% sure that it is - it's samsung m393a1g43db0-cpb), would I need a special motherboard etc. is this worth it or would it actually cost me more money to build a system that will support ECC memory? I really don't know much about it apart from the very slight reduction in speed but if it's only 2% I wont lose any sleep over it.

I have no real preference on any of the components, a friend has suggested using one of the AMD Ryzen processors as they are good value for money and maybe going for something like the Geforce 1060 graphics card. I don't have a clue about details such as power/cooling.

I would really appreciate any advice, thanks in advance!

Soldato
Hey! I'm interested in building my own system but I have never done it before - I'm looking to build something that can run VR on a budget of £700-1000 (not including keyboard, monitor etc.).. ideally closer to £700 though! It would be fantastic if someone could give me a bit of advice on components for this price range (I will only be using it for gaming, though not just VR).