1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** NEW SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G7/G9 MONITORS 27-49" AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER **

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by NikTheSHNIK, 29 May 2020.

  1. peahead

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 5,087

    I have the Gigabyte M28U 4K IPS 144hz monitor but i actually prefer the G7 motion is better on this.
     
  2. sgavan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Oct 2013

    Posts: 1,948

    I downloaded from here and have had no issues updating or running the display https://www.samsung.com/nz/support/model/LC32G75TQSEXXY/
     
  3. peahead

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 5,087

  4. Sean473

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Dec 2020

    Posts: 250

    Main thing is that you are happy! Doesn't matter if its not IPS :)
     
  5. Spikey

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,594

    Location: North East, UK


    Enjoy! Still really rate mine, no issues or dead pixels. Best monitor I've owned for a long time.
     
  6. Georgios

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Apr 2014

    Posts: 3

    Hello, I am in the process of getting the 32 inch G7.. Can someone please confirm that the LC32G75TQSRXEN is the latest one (manufactured 2021), with issues probably resolved instead of the LC32G75TQSUXEN ??
    Thanks in advance
     
  7. peahead

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 5,087

    Mine is LC32G75TQSRXXU if that is any help and it came with firmware 1010.3 i could not find a manufacture date on it or the box.
     
  8. unKle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,351

    Location: UK

    Updated firmware last night from 1008 to 1013 and I no longer have the glitch I had a year ago. I'll take that! :D
     
  9. Ex3cut3r

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Dec 2015

    Posts: 29

    Location: Hamburg, Germany

    Got the G7 Odyssey monitor now for a week. Switched from a 34" 3440x1440, NO VRR, VA, 60HZ Only.

    Awesome upgrade. VRR and 240HZ are a game changer. It came with 1010 Firmware. Just installed the newest one. 1011.0 and now I can see defintley more banding in Youtube for example. **** me, why did just installed the newest firmware.
     
  10. Wizzkidy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2003

    Posts: 1,694

    So after having a G7 32 that I returned ages ago due to terrible scanlines and other problems I bought a gigabyte ultrawide but this got broken by the little one (not had much luck with monitors)

    So now I have performed the panel lottery again on the G7 and it seems so far I have got a good one, no flickering or major scanlines at the moment so will see how it goes, the original one I had took a few months to mess up so I hope this one ends up being OK
     
  11. RC182

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Sep 2010

    Posts: 44

    Been tempted to buy one of these for ages and with the current price even more so....

    Question is has the problems with dead pixels and popping bezels etc been addressed and fixed? Or is it still a lucky draw?
     
  12. Kashinoda

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Apr 2004

    Posts: 455

    What's the turnaround time for RMAs with Samsung? Do they provide you with a stop-gap monitor like ASUS do? My G9 is occasionally dimming and flicking at random intervals, unfortunately it's not the standard flickering issue which 1010.3 part solves.

    Already been through one G9 replacement (flashing line down the screen) 5 months ago with retailer but it looks like they're out of stock now so it's either a refund or straight to Samsung.
     
  13. Kashinoda

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Apr 2004

    Posts: 455

    Okay so I got a full cash refund from the retailer and bought my third G9.

    It appears the 2021 revision is a lot better, the standard flickering and scanline issues are not present and the unit is a lot more efficient (50w vs 100w of the previous model). The heat reduction is actually very notcible, used to feel like I had a heater in front of me - this in turn fixes the popping bezels problem. Hopefully this is 3rd time lucky.

    The revision is denoted by the 4 digits after G9x, I.e. my model is LC49G93TSSRXXU with the older revision being TSSU.
     
  14. N0ddie

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Mar 2017

    Posts: 390

    Location: Glasgow

    I have a quick question about the 49". I understand you can have 2 inputs into the monitor displaying equally as 2 screens. Is there a way to have 1 16:9 video source (Games console) in the middle of this monitor at the 2560 x 1440.

    Essentially I plan on getting on of these for my racing cockpit. PC games support the Ultrawide resolution but consoles dont. Could I run a games console and have it running in the middle of this monitor (Obviously with black bars at each side.
     
  15. Spiritwolf

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2021

    Posts: 182

    There are 3 connections, DP + DP + HDMI

    You can either have either of the connection side by side covering half screen each or one covering the whole middle.

    In latter case if your single signal is not wide enough to cover the whole screen you will have black bars on either side.

    This is how it looks like on my screen:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. N0ddie

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Mar 2017

    Posts: 390

    Location: Glasgow

    Thats fantastic. Thanks for answering my question.