1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Samsung S23A700D 120Hz

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by axj0, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. pyschometal

    Associate

    Joined: May 4, 2012

    Posts: 19

    Location: London, UK

    I had the same problem. I bought a few cheapo cables from the bay and none of them would work at 120hz. So I bought the 3m version of this cable: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CB-003-SR
    Everything works fine now and I have also been told the OcUK Value cable work fine also but I haven't tested those myself.

    What I would really love to know is if anyone has bought any extra glasses 3D yet? I would love to buy an extra pair but Samsung are being extremely unhelpful sourcing a model number that definitely works with this monitor.
     
  2. MrZippo

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 748

    I got an extra pair for mine and can confirm that they work fine.
    When I got mine I searched for SSG-3150GB but they actually say SSG-3100GB. There are a few available on the auction site if you do a search for SSG-3100GB. I hope this info helps you.
     
  3. pyschometal

    Associate

    Joined: May 4, 2012

    Posts: 19

    Location: London, UK

    Do you think if I buy The standard SSG-3100GB glasses they will work? Only reason I ask is they don't have SyncMaster written on them.
     
  4. PCM2

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 18, 2010

    Posts: 6,745

    Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

    I'm afraid they won't work. They are set to sync with Samsung's 3D TVs and are in-tune with the 60Hz refresh rate native to them. You can actually trick them into turning on by connecting them to a Samsung TV and then viewing the monitor with them when it is in a 3D operating mode. But the result is a flickering mess.
     
  5. pyschometal

    Associate

    Joined: May 4, 2012

    Posts: 19

    Location: London, UK

    Damn! Looks like there might be a flaw with this monitor after all. The original glasses are like rocking horse poo (and bloody expensive!) and if you break the ones that came with the monitor your stuffed!
     
  6. Kibajaxxie

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 26, 2012

    Posts: 2

    FINALY after my 1st 700D with terrible backlight bleed i got a 2nd 1. The 2nd 1 had 2 dead pixels and now today my 3rd 700. 0 dead/stuck pixels 0% backlight bleed even not the blueish on the bottom.
    I can finaly say i am a very satisfied customer of this screen :) for 30 minutes \o/.
     
  7. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 7,112

    Location: Cornwall

  8. PCM2

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 18, 2010

    Posts: 6,745

    Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

    It is good to hear that you finally got one you're happy with. Persistance does pay off sometimes! But if it really did have 0% backlight bleed then blacks would be like 0.01cd/m2 and you'd have infinite static contrast. Sounds like it's all nice and even on the blacks, to eye, which is good to hear. The glossy screen often helps make blacks appear even deeper as well. :)
     
  9. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,581

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Wow, nice find merlin mate, can confirm nothing comes close to this for popout.

    This is the one to put on to impress your mates.
     
  10. Kibajaxxie

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 26, 2012

    Posts: 2

    Nvm what i said. Another 1 with dead pixels... wow amazing my luck 3th in a row

    Edit: I`m at my 4th screen now as far as i can tell i dont see any dead pixels or bleeding lets just hope it stays this way.
    To Merlin: Niceeeee!! It scared the **** out of my girl :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012
  11. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 28,307

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Got my claim escalated as I was bored of waiting.
    7-10 days to go in.
    Meh.
     
  12. Merlin5

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2009

    Posts: 15,203

    Location: Finchley Central, London

    Yep, it is. It's great isn't it. :cool: Check out some of his others, he's got loads.

    This is another good one.

     
  13. chipachap

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 23, 2011

    Posts: 1,144

    Location: Ireland

    They're the video's I found ages ago! They're brilliant. I've watched all his stuff and loads of Youtube 3d.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  14. Syther101

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 16, 2012

    Posts: 607

    Just ordered 2 of these :D. Should be here Friday. Can't wait to get some battlefield going on these and to replace my 3 year old LG LCD Monitor TV XD

    2 Questions

    If I have ordered 2 individual ones I presume they would come with 2 pairs of 3D Glasses? Would be handy to have a backup pair.

    Also 1. Do they come with DVI cables that support 120Hz and also how long are the cables?.

    Cheers
     
  15. shuffle

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 12, 2010

    Posts: 857

    Location: Aberdare

    I ordered this monitor a few months ago, it came with a 120hz cable. Glasses came with monitor (and batteries included!).
    Brilliant monitor, the 120hz is noticable if you like games etc, very smooth.
    Took PCM2's advice on this, superb
     
  16. Syther101

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 16, 2012

    Posts: 607

    Thanks very much for the info. Yes can't wait to get it. Plus just got Bioshock 1 and 2 in the sale Amazon.com is having at the moment to compete with the steam sales so I shall have some gaming to do beside the ordinary Battlefield ;). Going to be such a big step up for gaming from this monitor TV XD
     
  17. shuffle

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 12, 2010

    Posts: 857

    Location: Aberdare

    Bioshock is one of those games you complete - and 4 years later think -- I have to go and re-visit.

    Frustrating, but the music, voice acting, exploring - second to none. Brilliant
     
  18. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 28,307

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Got my VAT refund finally.
     
  19. chipachap

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 23, 2011

    Posts: 1,144

    Location: Ireland

    Still waiting on mine! :( Getting to the point where I could do with it!
     
  20. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 28,307

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Send them an E-mail.
    That got mine sped up.