1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Sky Box

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by Voy06, 2 Jun 2006.

  1. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 743

    Location: Liverpool

    If you have had to replace your Sky box for a new one got it all hooked up and that but you have the old Sky menu how do you get the update to the new Sky menu. Will it just happen automatically or do you have to phone Sky?

    Thanks.
     
  2. midville

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jan 2005

    Posts: 295

    Location: North Yorkshire

    It should update itself - not too sure on the timescales.
     
  3. Matblack

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Jan 2004

    Posts: 15,627

    Location: On my Boat, Drinking

    You can force an update but turning it off and then back on with the enter button depressed

    MB
     
  4. Dr House

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 13,262

    Location: London

     
  5. Voy06

    Hitman

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 743

    Location: Liverpool

    Right thanks people, shall sort that after work.
     
  6. Tesla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 17,413

    Location: Bristol, UK

    I have no idea what the upside down card does. I havn't come across that step before.

    However, I cannot see it causing harm.
     
  7. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,987

    There is no need to do that at all, whether the card is in or out it makes no odds. Where the hell they have thought up putting the card in upside down i'll never know :p
     
  8. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,586

    Remember this is Sky we are talking about - logic is totally removed from their thinking :D
     
  9. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,987

    :p Seriously though, why the hell would they suggest such a completely random thing!?
     
  10. fini

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 7,570

    Location: London

    I'm thinking its because several calls went like this

    'ok now remove the viewing card'

    <several minutes later>

    'put the card back in'

    'oh, I thought you told me to throw it away?'

    fini
     
  11. Datamonkey

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 6,797

    Location: Northamptonshire

    more than likely so that they can tell them to take the card out and turn it back over again,

    try asking someone to put a card with chip back in the correct way, when it could have gone in either way depending on the box ;)

    so they take it out and turn it over, then when they take it out and turn it over again it has to be the correct way,

    or is it?? :confused:

    lol
     
  12. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 32,987

    Why not just leave the card in then?