New subfloor with engineered wood floor

Soldato
I've just bought a house which is a bit of a project. The last week has been spent ripping everything apart and during that process I've decided that the original floorboards have definitely seen better days so I would like to replace them before I fit my wood flooring.

I've never done this before so I'm just reading up now however I thought I'd ask the OCUK collective for their opinions.

Is the best solution something like 18mm WDP plywood? I will be fitting engineered wood flooring which is 14mm+3mm so I assume that this combo would be nice and strong? The last thing I want is flex and squeaks.

Soldato
I would pull the old Floorboards up and replace with 22mm Caberfloor. And don't forget the glue....We are mid renovation on an edwardian house. Floor levels all over the place once levelled it was much easier to fit Caberfloor (or similar) and now the floor feels like concrete.

Soldato
Completely opposite to what I've heard... Chipboard is cheap and dirty. Ply is substantially more solid.

Installing 80sqm of it, so I suppose time will tell.

+ Op... Don't think you want soft wood.

You want the external plywood at 24 a sheet.

Having 22mm WBP ply in the bedroom and nearly 5000sq feet of caberfloor everywhere else. I wont be buying ply for the floor.

The bedroom squeaks like so bad I'm considering ripping it back up. But its going to be a guest bedroom so I keep asking myself am I really that bothered

Soldato
Having 22mm WBP ply in the bedroom and nearly 5000sq feet of caberfloor everywhere else. I wont be buying ply for the floor.

The bedroom squeaks like so bad I'm considering ripping it back up. But its going to be a guest bedroom so I keep asking myself am I really that bothered

That's pretty interesting. Did you baton it etc?

I'm avoiding tg because if you need access under floor you're stuffed.

In my ideal world I'd tear the floors up and put traditional floorboards!

Soldato