1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Vega 56 Pulse Crashes

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Arch1e, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,261

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Which model 620W PSU?
     
  2. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,344

  3. mr1000

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2007

    Posts: 237

    I have the same processor @ 3.5, 2 HDD's, 1 SSD, 4 Case fans, card reader and DVD re-writer. All powered by a 650w PSU, calculator says I need close to 590W and everything runs fine for me.

    So depending on what else you have in your rig, you *should* be ok, but wont have much room for overclocking it.
     
  4. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,344

    Cool thanks
     
  5. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,506

    Location: n/east-the toon

    What brand is it and model?
     
  6. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,261

    Location: Under the hot sun.

  7. Zoroaster

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 10, 2010

    Posts: 88

    I run a 550w 5 year old Corsair PSU, my Sapphire Vega56 Pulse happily sits at 1630-1640, at about 60 degrees. Fan at 1300rpm.

    Are we sure its a PSU issue and not just a problem with the timings/voltages?
     
  8. joelk2

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2010

    Posts: 4,344

    Why does age matter?
     
  9. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    Thank you. I`ve already bought EVGA 750W gold!
    I`ve tried to undervolt and underclock with HBM at stock 800Mhz and even with these settings it crashed...
    Anyway, it was good excuse to buy new case and new cpu cooler, so I might be able to OC my 1600x to 4Ghz...
     
  10. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    Maybe it was issue with my OC settings. Unfortunately, I don`t have time right now to test it further...
     
  11. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    I've changed PSU to EVGA 750w Gold and new case, It should be better airflow in CoolerMaster Q300L, but I still have that crashes every 1,5-2hrs of gameplay) My OC preset, P6 1582 1000mv, P7 1602 1025 and 930mhz on memory. Core temps 73 max, HMB temps 77 max...
    I will try stock settings on balanced mode, to make sure its not the card itself cousing this crashes... if evrything okay, I will install new drivers 19.2.2 to see if I can have stable OC on new drivers... maybe its just the drivers... or I'm terrible in OCing )))
    Error the same: DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_RESET, this usually indicates a driver bug, or GPU hardware failing/overheating. If you were running a game at the time of this error then game may have triggered a driver bug or caused your GPU to overheat...
     
  12. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 10,004

    Just RMA the card for a new one. Clearly we/you have excluded everything else but the card.
    Ergo the card is faulty
     
  13. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    Maybe it is just a bios and I need to try switch to secondary and then try to OC?
     
  14. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 10,004

    If you want to. Swap to second bios and run at stock settings first though. If it runs fine, then it's an unstable overclocked causing the issue
     
  15. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    I will try it today and if this not going to help then RMA.
     
  16. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    I found the power saving bios gave more stable underclocks than the default performance bios on my 64 nitro.
    However - if it's crashing on stock settings, then something is wrong with the card, or driver conflicts.
    A lot of people are reporting the 19.2.2 drivers are bugged - so you may be better off going backwards to 18.12.2
     
  17. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,506

    Location: n/east-the toon

    I know its a pain but have you tried a fresh OS install?
     
  18. Arch1e

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 29, 2016

    Posts: 42

    Hello Guys,

    The card doesn't crash on stock settings...balanced or turbo. It will crash if I do manual OC, auto-OC or auto-undervolt, but it is OC, so Overclockers guy said that if card is stable on stock setting, they can`t swap it.
    I will have to keep it, so I was doing some tests and I found out that my OC card crashes only if core clock exceeds official boost clock of 1512Mhz...
    I found out that card is stable on these settings: P6 1522MHz 1025mV; P7 1572MHz 1050mV and HMB2 at 930MHz, 900mV (I`m not sure if I can push mV higher to achieve higher MHz). Core clock seats around 1500MHz and I was able to play 5 hours without any crashes... not the best OC results but Im happy enough.

    Thank you again everyone!
     
  19. tamzzy

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 10,004

    glad it works at stock and all sorted, but yeah, unfortunately it appears your card is a bit of a dud for overclocking :(
     
  20. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 302

    Location: Mondas

    Can you tell me from GPUZ who makes the HBM memory on your card. I know hynix RAM does not overclock at all very well and 930 is just too much.