1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Xonar drivers for D1 / D2 / DX / D2X

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by bledd, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    See newer drivers.

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17990285

    ------------------------------


    Also, official firmware fix here.
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Audio_Card/Xonar_D2X/AsusSndUpdate_v110.rar
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
  2. Uriel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 15, 2006

    Posts: 7,625

    Appreciated. Is there a list of resolved issues anywhere.

    It seems to take Asus far too long to release drivers themselves, when a lot of issues are basically sorted.
     
  3. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

  4. Phal

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 19, 2004

    Posts: 4,089

    Location: Shoreham by Sea

    Its not as if Creative are any better at updating drivers :( lol
     
  5. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    it just seems retarded that they don't release one driver for all Xonar cards, using inf files to set them up.

    like nvidia/creative/ati do :/
     
  6. Uriel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 15, 2006

    Posts: 7,625

    Dunno - people complain about Creative but last time I checked they were updating X-Fi drivers on a regular basis. They've certainly been updated this year, which is nice.

    Both companies leave a lot to be desired if you compare them to the likes of nVIDIA and AMD/ATI.
     
  7. willy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 27, 2008

    Posts: 1,118

    So anyone tried this driver?
     
  8. cplhardnut

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2006

    Posts: 734

    Location: Ilford Essex

    ye just installed them for my xonar dx on xp, works fine no probs so far
     
  9. aardvark

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 2, 2005

    Posts: 8,005

    Location: leeds

    have to try this - cheers
     
  10. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    For me, it fixed my problem where after resuming from Sleep S3, the card would forget that it's set to optical out. So I had to keep setting that after sleep -huge pain in the butt

    Lots of people on the asus forum reporting it resolves certain game issues too
     
  11. theforce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 5, 2005

    Posts: 2,129

    Location: Larnaca, Cyprus

    Asus are on the right track with their audio related products excluding their driver updates. While l have no problems with the drivers it would be nice for Asus to upgrade the drivers three or four times a year improving performance and fixing issues.
    I fail to understand why a big company like Asus would not offer regular updates for relatively new products.
     
  12. tmaxxthomson

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 23, 2007

    Posts: 957

    Location: Scottish Borders

    whats the advantage with this over the standard Xonar Driver? Thanks
     
  13. bilston

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 27, 2003

    Posts: 1,984

    Location: Worthing

    more bug fixes only I think.

    Works fine in windows 7 x64 too. The only thing missing is the channel selection list from the program that runs in the tray
     
  14. robnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 1,414

    Location: Dursley

    Just installed these, the odd crackling seems to have stopped. Thanks!
     
  15. -=Vect0r=-

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 11, 2008

    Posts: 882

    Location: Earth:\UK\Chelmsford

    Now Vista x64 DX installed. All works fine.

    Although, only change noticed so far is the ability to change the LFE crossover frequency for both small and large speaker under the FlexBass tab. Previous driver (latest beta) could only adjust on Large speakers.

    The Vista Speaker Test Configuration still swaps channels incorrectly... Not in games or movies just in test config so not a biggie...
     
  16. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    added the official firmware update to first post.. (for pci-e cards only)
     
  17. robnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 1,414

    Location: Dursley

    omfg bledd i love you, before these drivers, if a program crashed id get horrible loop in my headset, now with these it loops for 1s then stops!!!! thanks!
     
  18. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    can everyone list the fixes they've recieved from them, so i can list them in the main post.

    which card.
    which app.
    which problem resolved.
    remaining issues?
     
  19. robnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 1,414

    Location: Dursley

    Xonar d2 pci
    Windows xp sp3
    Cracklepop on some sources gone and if a app/game crashes the card no longer loops.
    Nothing cept the channel selection but i think thats a individial oddety.
     
  20. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,661

    Location: Parts Unknown

    it's a vista only feature, just the way vista's sound stack works