Non-fault accident + excess

Associate
Late August, a car crashed into the passenger side of mine whilst I going around a roundabout, about to leave, indicator was on, car came speeding out of the junction and into the side of my car, I have a witness to, damage to our car was wheel arch, door, the other car just a scratched bumper and a impact dent at the side of the bumper. I did/do have whiplash, constant pain went away after about a week and half, but now I have a reccuring pain when cycling/exercising but hopefully it'll get better with time, I don't want to claim for it, I don't believe in the whole system and the companies involved make more money out of it than anyone else in my opinion.

I'm a named driver on my Dad's insurance, he was with me at the time also, he's worrying himself sick over it all because he's that type of person, the other car was a rental/hire car and the driver was a foreign visitor and all we got from him was his works address basically and mobile number and a whole lot of sorries.

We paid out £350 excess to the garage for repairs,the insurance company have had trouble/struggled/or not bothered getting in contact with the third party insurance company, we've been calling for regulary updates and they seemed to have barely done anything. One person said they had got in contact and was waiting for a call back and then contradicted themselves by saying they never got through because the line just rang out/was busy, though we got a letter acknowledging it was a rental car, stating the firm, and that they were making enquiries.

People have advised my Dad he has to make a claim through solictors (we had ones appointed to us by insurance but so far told them we don't want to profit from it in anyway) to get back his excess, is this true? He thought the insurance company would just get it back and they would pay it to him eventually.