Noob question about surround headphones

Associate
Hi guys,

I apologise in advance if this is a numpty question, but I need help...

So I have an Asus p8z68 pro gen 3 with an i5 2500k and a 980 ti.

I'm VERY new to PC gaming (as in -the last month), and currently have a pair of cheapo stereo speakers attached to my PC via the (green) 3.5 mm audio output on the mobo. I want to get some surround headphones and I don't know the first thing about the subject.

So my question is: How would 5.1 (or even 7.1) headphones connect to my PC? I've seen headphones that have a wireless USB dongle. Is this the way to go, or am I missing something obvious? I only play driving sims (Pcars2 /AC) and I have a limited amount of time with it so I don't want to have a major faff. My system is being pushed quite hard, so I'm also looking for a non resource intensive solution.

Again, sorry if this question is daft!

Thanks.

Pongo.

Caporegime
Surround headsets will usually be USB and have their own inbuilt sound 'chip' in the lead for processing the virtual 5.1/7.1 surround sound.

Did you have any specific headset in mind?

Soldato
No specific headset -budget is... minimal!
Just forget word headsets.
It's marketing term for mostly very cheap lousy headphones with microphone attached.
And wireless is another marketing term for selling same thing for even higher price.
With likely break up "timer" using fixed battery...

"Real" 5.1/7.1 is even bigger pile of Chinese garbage truck content.
Human has only two ears/"receivers" and one good quality driver per receiver is all that's needed:
http://berkeleybside.com/sound-dimensions-of-binaural-recording/

For "shoestring" budget Superlux has some headphones with very high "bang per buck".
Myself got HD-330 just for fun/test (cost mighty 30€) and compared to Beyerdynamic DT990 and Sennheiser HD595 it sure sounds good considering price difference.