1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA ‘Ampere’ 8nm Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LoadsaMoney, 4 Oct 2019.

  1. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 77,842

    I think these cards are aimed at persuading Pascal owners to upgrade (as well as giving them room to manoeuvre on AMD) cards designed to pull Turing owners over will arrive later.
     
  2. Seb.F

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Mar 2012

    Posts: 22

    Ah right I see yes. I'm still not sure anyone answered my original question of it I'm custom WC'ing, should I get the FE as it's basically ref or get one of the others from here? I suppose it rests on whether the boards are the same?
     
  3. rchads89

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2010

    Posts: 769

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    It is for sure. I was waiting to see what price the AMP version is going to be. Im not one for overclocking graphic cards at all so the extra boost clocks are ideal for me.
     
  4. Curlyriff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 2,475

    Location: Oxfordshire

    Shah don't be logical and actually look at prices. They are not good and about 40% more than I'm willing to pay for the performance. Will be waiting another generation I think to then buy these second hand.
     
  5. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Jan 2005

    Posts: 41,083

    Location: Co Durham

    I saw that got mentioned by one commentator on the release that he hasnt seen a single AIB releasing a card with a dedicated VR port. Seems strange.
     
  6. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 18,686

    anyone?
     
  7. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

  8. Curlyriff

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 2,475

    Location: Oxfordshire

    That doesn't really make pricing good or the praise seen here seems extreme for what is really the absolute most they should of ever been but still a whole product stack too high to even compare to previous generations before RTX.
     
  9. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

    Yes
     
  10. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 18,686

    Nice
     
  11. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,487

    Location: London

    I was gonna say maybe/no, but I am gonna change that to maybe/yes.

    If you go on the Nvidia 3090 product page and look at "Check your System Compatibility" it says you need a 750w PSU but may get away with less.

    Still we need to wait for proper reviews etc.
     
  12. Boomstick777

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Jan 2012

    Posts: 11,696

    Location: UK.

    ?

    0_0

    Games will use over 10GB, might be worth the wait of a couple months.
     
  13. JGBR

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Mar 2007

    Posts: 1,807

    I’m not convinced by those claiming PCIE3 will hold these cards back. The bus still isn’t saturated in most cases as is!
     
  14. KiNgPiN83

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,870

    Yikes! It is an absolute unit! Lol
     
  15. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Jan 2005

    Posts: 41,083

    Location: Co Durham

  16. peahead

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 5,009

    I hope there will plenty of 3090 stock at launch i don't want to be stuck without a GPU for months.
     
  17. sprite-

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Oct 2009

    Posts: 571

    I just want to pre order my damn 3080...... Hurry up and make them active listings OCuk!
     
  18. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

    come on @Gibbo. How much are the KFA2 clown cards? Did they get close to £600? be impressed if so.
     
  19. rchads89

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2010

    Posts: 769

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Its very expensive... gibbo did say prices could change though.. so could be more yet :D:D
     
  20. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    Are waterblock prices announced somewhere?