1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA ‘Ampere’ 8nm Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LoadsaMoney, 4 Oct 2019.

  1. five8five

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Jun 2016

    Posts: 2,306

    Location: UK

    That looks terrible :eek:
    It makes that Zotac with the extra fans not look so bad :D

    Edit - the Zotac looks equally terrible :p
     
  2. Bravetart

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2009

    Posts: 344

    Location: Reading

    Yeah, that's what sensible people would do, but I'm not a patient person when it comes to shiny things :D

    I guess we will find out in a couple of weeks if my patience holds out...
     
  3. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Apr 2008

    Posts: 18,694

    have u read or hear dof concerns tha these 3000 series cards will now push hot hair from the bottom of teh card to the top where its close to the CPU?
     
  4. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,892

    Location: Guernsey

    I rather have my 11GB 2080ti over a 8GB 3070....

    Am really interested in seeing some 4K or even 3440x1440 max settings tests done with this 8GB 3070 in MS FS 2020 where I know it uses over 10GB vram on my 2080ti
     
  5. rchads89

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Sep 2010

    Posts: 769

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    nice i need to have alook now
     
  6. five8five

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Jun 2016

    Posts: 2,306

    Location: UK

    Clowns need the space, they've got big shoes :p
     
  7. JediFragger

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,566

    Location: y0 Mommas ***

    Waiting for a 3080Ti and AMD to show myself, something a little in-between ;)
     
  8. Tommy_Here

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Dec 2013

    Posts: 1,721

    Location: Liverpool

    Seeing 2080 Tis I'm Facebook for £600+ personally like everyone is saying the 3070 matches or exceeds it I wouldn't pay anymore than £350 for a 2080 Ti now if the 3070 is faster across the board and not just matches it £300 tops. I think the 3070/3080 are going to cripple 2nd hand prices all the way from from GTX 1080 which was still a £250-£300 GPU on the bay only a week ago.
     
  9. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,275

    Location: With the færies wearing black cherries for rings

    Plastic housing and coloured lights.

    What's not to like!?! :p
     
  10. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,518

    Location: London

    Anyone going from a Vega 56 or similar performing card to a 3070/3080? My V56 is doing a good job at 1440p but I'm playing slightly older games (Forza 3, the Tomb Raider trilogy), and it might struggle >60/100 FPS with more demanding games. DLSS and a card considerably more powerful than my V56 on a G-SYNC compatible screen sound like a tempting proposition.
     
  11. cwhitehead

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 May 2012

    Posts: 359

    Why? its toally different RAM> like DDR3 / DDR4.

    There will be alot of 2080TI owners trying to justify their £1200+ purchase.
     
  12. five8five

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Jun 2016

    Posts: 2,306

    Location: UK

    Looks like an afterthought. Quick, get an extra fan on there........
     
  13. cwhitehead

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 May 2012

    Posts: 359

    Ill be going either 3070 or 3080 from V64. Its the first time ive felt the cost to do so is worth it.
     
  14. Poneros

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Feb 2015

    Posts: 5,577




     
  15. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,496

    Sorry I neglected to quote what I was replying to, my bad.

    The RTX IO allows the card to pull data directly from storage and decompress it into GPU memory, relieving the load from the CPU and decompressing far faster than it could anyway.

    Basically it's similar to the storage subsystem in the PS5.

    I was saying that, whilst I still believe all this talk of PCIe4 making any significant difference to GPU performance is nonsense, RTX IO could well be a different matter.
     
  16. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 20,133

    Location: Hertfordshire

    What actually happens when VRAM is full up, wont the extra speed actually negate any issues with "only" 10GB VRAM?
     
  17. Chuk_Chuk

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 May 2014

    Posts: 2,766

    Are they trying to emulate some sort of push pull configuration?

    Also this is going to cause clearance issues with any RAM modules and CPU coolers :|. What a joke of a design.
     
  18. beany_bot

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2015

    Posts: 4,782

    Location: Glasgow Area

    I think its a last minute addition because the card was obviously getting too hot under testing. Makes me worry about getting any AIB card tbh. but lets see. I've decent case flow. and its going to be winter....
     
  19. Jacky60

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Jan 2010

    Posts: 1,337

    Location: Earth

    I mean vs the 3080TI specs they're already posted here! https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/geforce-rtx-3080-ti.c3581
     
  20. philmo

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Apr 2012

    Posts: 361

    Quite.
    Funny yesterday I was getting help sorting spec in a new PC. With a 2070 SUPER O/C at £529. Now EBay has plenty of 2080TI’s starting at £550. Will try to have the patience to see 3070 reviews and go from there.