1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA ‘Ampere’ 8nm Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LoadsaMoney, 4 Oct 2019.

  1. hyperseven

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 May 2013

    Posts: 8,150

    Location: M28

    Jesus, one of the most unprofessional promo videos I have ever seen :eek: Hope their products aren't reflective of this.
     
  2. pBay

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2009

    Posts: 173

    Compared to Gigabytes advert, it's a production masterclass
     
  3. hyperseven

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 May 2013

    Posts: 8,150

    Location: M28

    Even terrible it had some production value, this was some person on a lunch break with their mobile :D
     
  4. pBay

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2009

    Posts: 173

    Haha true. At least they actually showed the product! Looks good!
     
  5. P.B

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Apr 2015

    Posts: 2,150

    1000% improved
     
  6. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 23,858

    Location: Chadderton, Oldham

    Wish we knew how easy it would be to buy one of these, or come 2pm on the 17th will the website crash ?

    Or will it be like a supermarket during the lockdown with a virtual queue first come first served
     
  7. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    Looks like a three slot 3080, that one chunky card. I don't like the yellow colour power leads though but the card looks nice.
     
  8. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,062

    Location: In a house

  9. pBay

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2009

    Posts: 173

    Yes pleasingly chunky. The power leads don't bother me, already have braided cables and vertical mounting means I don't need to tell the world I "live to game".
     
  10. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,062

    Location: In a house

     
  11. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

  12. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,857

    Location: Guernsey

    WOW look how high that thing is compared to the metal end bracket
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 9 Sep 2020
  13. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    That pic is breaking my mobile browser @chaparral

    EDIT - never mind, on PC now, all ok
     
    Last edited: 9 Sep 2020
  14. Satchfanuk

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Jun 2016

    Posts: 815

    Location: Lincoln

    Great cover for a lack of stock, 'It's the mining craze snapping up all the cards' rather than admit the yields are in the toilet :p
     
  15. TheLegacy

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Sep 2020

    Posts: 6

    Ugh, the more I think about it... the only graphically demanding PC game I'll be playing before Christmas might be Cyberpunk 2077 (if I don't buy on console). I'm truly wondering whether it's wise to spend £600+ on a new gpu when I'm only really going to play one big game. I might just hold off from buying next week and see what AMD are offering first at least, consoles are usually my main gaming platforms (90% of my friends are on console).
     
  16. Mensy

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2015

    Posts: 538

    The one im after if i dont get the FE but i do like the look of the amped ones
     
  17. Adrian1976

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Mar 2017

    Posts: 540

    Location: Manchester

    I feel you, that's bad needing 3, god knows how many they have if any come release day, @Gibbo said he'd have more information this week for people who want them.
     
  18. Poneros

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Feb 2015

    Posts: 5,470

    There's many issues and incompatibilities surrounding it, so the chance of it just working isn't great. Glad you didn't run into any.

    For example, a single thread for a single tv just about earc: https://www.avsforum.com/threads/lg-c9-earc-info-thread.3072900/
     
  19. weyland yutani

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Mar 2011

    Posts: 2,074

    Location: Snowdonia

    Not really followed the news on these closely, will the 3070 really match a 2080ti?
     
  20. Poneros

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Feb 2015

    Posts: 5,470

    In theory it should be close enough, but since 3070s launch in October we have no independent data to verify that claim.