1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OCZ Vertex2 Pro 200GB - Failure... x2

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Netvyper, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Netvyper

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 534

    Location: Taunton, Somerset

    Bought 2 of these for use at work, thankfully still in the testing phase. One arrived DOA, the other failed after 3 weeks, both with the same issue. They're detected by the bios, but not in windows or other OS/OS installation. Also not found by the ssdupate util. For £800 (low end) enterprise drives, I was expecting a little more, to be quite frank.

    I guess we'll just have to wait for intel to pull finger on larger capacity drives :(
     
  2. rush_syndrome

    Gangster

    Joined: May 8, 2010

    Posts: 421

    Location: London

    Sure its not something else? Is the BIOS up to date? I find it unlikely that two drives would fail. OCZ are really good for customer service so you will get a prompt response and resolution, well I did.
     
  3. Gizmowithatt

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 25, 2006

    Posts: 279


    I have had two Vertex’s fail in the last 18 months the first failed in just under a year the other after six months, I was going to buy the IBIS drive but the failure rate put me off, I now have a Crucial SSD, so I am holding my breath to see how long that lasts.

    The VERTEX’s just died, to start with it would loose windows files then BSOD, and when I tried to sanitary erase them “they died” what gets me is that OCZ says that they are 1.5 million hours before failure.

    Not sure if I would but OCZ SSD’s again, OH and another thing after a year you have to return your faulty SSD to the Netherlands for a replacement, which took 2-3 weeks.
     
  4. Selekt0r

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 1,673

    Location: Kent, UK

    This non-UK RMA malarkey is getting a bit annoying. I had to RMA an OCZ power supply to the Netherlands too, and that cost a packet because of the weight.

    I also had to RMA a Sandisk sdhc card to Czech Republic last week, and had to chance it with non-trackable/signable mail, as it was not worth the cost of sending it trackable. Time will tell whether I actually get a replacement, or whether it will be 'lost in the post'...

    I intend to make whether the company has a UK RMA process a key part of my buying decision in future.
     
  5. scruffeh

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 11, 2006

    Posts: 498

    You should be fine with the Sandisk, Czech post is apparently really good. It did take Sandisk ages to send me a replacement, along with a bit of badgering, but they did get back to me eventually
     
  6. Vimes

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2005

    Posts: 4,294

    Location: Manchester

    I had to do the same with a Sandisk SD card, after getting an email with the returns information on it. I sent the card off in the post and I assume that they must test it thoroughly as it has been about six months now. I'm sure that it will be ready to send back to me soon :D
    This is where I sent that card to...

    ModusLink International s.r.o.
    SanDisk RMA Department
    CT Park Brno, Building 2
    Turanka 110
    62700 Brno -
    Czech Republic


    When my OCZ PSU failed after 18mths I copied some stuff that I found from OCZ's website which stated that the warranty would be covered through the retailer. With this printed went to my local dealer, who were very good, and they offered to either send it off for me or give me back what I paid for it. I had my money back and bought a Corsair PSU instead.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
  7. Netvyper

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 534

    Location: Taunton, Somerset

    Logged the job yesterday, mid-afternoon and not a response yet, they're getting closer & closer to the 24hr target they mention.

    I've checked the SSD in its Server & 2 different PCs and its not detected in any scenario. The Server that the 100GB Vertex 2 Pro that we initially bought for the Proof of Concept locked up this morning, with some IO errors in the logs, looks like that one is on its way out too. OCZ need to re-badge the devices as they clearly aren't ready for the enterprise.
     
  8. FoxEye

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 17, 2006

    Posts: 19,958

    Location: Cornwall

    That's the case with all manufacturers, not just OCZ. As much as most retailers will try to wash their hands of any responsibility, the fact is here in the UK they are obliged to deal with faults, not fob you off to the manufacturer.

    In some cases you might prefer to deal with the manufacturer (MS, for example), but in other cases you should just insist that that the retailer take the goods back (whether they want to or not, they +have+ to).
     
  9. Netvyper

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 534

    Location: Taunton, Somerset

    I think thats what we'll do. They were bought from a major UK etailer, and I think all 3 of the SSDs are going back... we cant rely on them, and whilst failures are expected and tolerated, when 3/3 devices show signs of failure its entirely unacceptable :(