1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Office Pro Plus 2019 installs 32 bit not 64

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by ElliorR, Feb 11, 2020.

  1. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 20, 2009

    Posts: 8,677

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    Hello all

    I bought Office Pro Plus 2019 and installed it last night and even though Microsoft state the 64 bit version installs by default, unless you have a 32 bit version of a standalone office app already installed (if I do I don't have a clue what it is), but on 3 separate attempts at installing it, it installs the 32 bit version. This is on a fresh install of Windows 10 64 bit on a new PC I finished building last Friday.

    What am I missing? Thanks for any help anyone can give me.
     
  2. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 24,330

    Location: Lake District

    You don't actually need the 64bit version, even office 365 installs the 32bit version by default.
     
  3. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

  4. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 20, 2009

    Posts: 8,677

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    Yes I've read that article and I've actually downloaded the install .exe directly from Microsoft.

    When I go into Task Manager and check processes it will say Microsoft Outlook (32 bit) whereas at work right now I have Outlook open, as well as Excel, and Task Manager says Microsoft Outlook/Microsoft Excel.
     
  5. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 24,330

    Location: Lake District

    Why do you need 64bit office?

    My task manager doesn't specifiy 32 bit either, but when you open file location it sits in program files (x86)
     
  6. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 20, 2009

    Posts: 8,677

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    My issue is Microsoft says it should default to the 64 bit version but is installing the 32 bit version. I am the sort of person who wants to know why.
     
  7. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 24,330

    Location: Lake District

    I wish you well in that case :D
     
  8. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

    Just force it. Go into the image file (if you have one) if not download it from somewhere

    https://windowstan.com/software/office-2019/

    and run;

    Then go to - \Office\Setup64.exe

    Maybe give Microsoft a call and tell them their software is *****.
     
  9. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 6,760

    Or use libre office. At least doesn't take up 8,000TB like office bloatware.
     
  10. ElliorR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 20, 2009

    Posts: 8,677

    Location: Not where I'd like to be

    Cheers that solved it.

    I'm sure their bin is already full of peoples moans.
     
  11. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,228

    It's overflowing with winging and problems. It's that full it's a jet stream of flying ****.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2020
  12. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,043

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Nah, 64bit is default now. Has been since sometime early last year :)
     
  13. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,203

    Location: MediaCityUK

    But Office looks so sexy
     
  14. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 6,760

    Hi I'm paperclip the really annoying avatar.

    You have just typed in a word. Are you sure? I'll just show you a non skippable full screen 20 minute animation of me bouncing around first.
     
  15. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,203

    Location: MediaCityUK

    I'm sure that went in Office 98 or something?