1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Official Catalyst 9.12

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by w311zy, 17 Dec 2009.

  1. nV_Jason

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Jan 2008

    Posts: 79

    Im not one to whine about things, but since ive installed these drivers ive had no end of lockups with my pc :/ basically most games i play will randomly lock up and you cant get to windows, so it requires a manual reboot to getting it working again. May go back to 9.11's...
     
  2. toon_mad

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 4,791

    Location: North East

    Drivers are perfect, been playing Dirt 2 earlier with them, no performance issues at all on ultra high, 8x AA, 1680x1050 res :)
     
  3. Final8y

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 May 2006

    Posts: 12,193

    Location: London, Ealing

    Some you who are having issues have put your set-ups back to stock cpu clocks & ram timings just in case its having an effect with the new drivers ?.
     
  4. RizlaKing

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jan 2008

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: UK

    My system is oc'd on the cpu and i have never had a problem with any of the drivers i have installed although i went from 9.10 to 9.12 didn't bother with 9.11. I also just install them over the old ones and so far not a single problem but clearly there are people who are having problems and it can't all be down to user error although with some it will be.
     
  5. mmj_uk

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 25,691

    These drivers were all hype and very little substance, hopefully 10.1 are a considerable improvement.
     
  6. hyperst

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Dec 2008

    Posts: 4,022

    Location: Lincolnshire

    one thing to note is they dont play nice with fraps on my pc, causes dirt 2 to stutter for me if fraps is running
     
  7. MeMeMeMe

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,719

    Ah, yes, that's my problem too - the stuttering doesn't happen if FRAPS isn't running.
     
  8. STutheTerrorisT

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Oct 2008

    Posts: 123

    Location: North West

    Downloaded and installed over 9.10.. No issues and working nicely with my 4870x2 on Vista64.. Gaming seems to be smoother than 9.10's were.. Chuffed :)
     
  9. w311zy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2008

    Posts: 509

    Location: Manchster

    Well after a full format of windows 7 x64 Battlefield 2 still wont load with 9.12 and the hotfix. When i try to boot it up the screen goes black as normal then flashes black then back to desktop... I am running on a 1080P panasonic PZ82..
     
  10. aj2703

    Associate

    Joined: 9 May 2008

    Posts: 98

    Does GTA4 work on win7 with these drivers..?
     
  11. hyperst

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Dec 2008

    Posts: 4,022

    Location: Lincolnshire

    try right click then run as administrattor
     
  12. w311zy

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2008

    Posts: 509

    Location: Manchster

    I turned UAC off and even still try right clicking.... Doing my head in big time. :mad:
     
  13. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,666

    Location: London


    If you did a clean windows install and a full re-install of BF2 + patches then this may not work but normally when you get this issue with BF2 you can try...

    Delete any folders in "\Documents\Battlefield 2\mods\bf2\cache\"
    Search "\Documents\Battlefield 2\Profiles\" for any "video.con" files and open them.
    Look for this line "VideoSettings.setResolution [email protected]"
    And try changing it to the res and refresh you want to use.
    If that doesn't work try something else that your monitor supports or try something standard like [email protected]

    I've tried BF2 with the 9.12 hotfix drivers here and it loads ok.
     
  14. unknownsock

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,688

    Location: Leeds, UK

    Yup, Nvidia have never had bad drivers.
    Ever.
    :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: 21 Dec 2009
  15. toon_mad

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 4,791

    Location: North East

    As said earlier, mine work perfect, the only problem i have is i force vsync in the CCC and some games dont run with it like Burnout, so i get horrible screen tearing :mad:
     
  16. Busa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,471

    Installed these...had 3 BSOD and logitech profiler stopped working...rolled back to previous drivers now.
     
  17. Khrest

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jul 2003

    Posts: 1,350

    Location: Loughborough

    I seem to be getting along fine with these... Apart form a lack of AA in Empire TW and the giant mouse cursor issue sometimes. But that is from a complete re-install of Win7 due to my upgrade last week...
     
  18. hyperst

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Dec 2008

    Posts: 4,022

    Location: Lincolnshire

    twice today on 9.12's dirt 2 executable has stopped responding, never had this with 9.11's
     
  19. toon_mad

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 4,791

    Location: North East

    no problems with mine, just cant seem to force vsync on games like burnout, looks horrible with it off :o
     
  20. chronic86

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Sep 2007

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: Newcastle upon tyne


    strange my bf2 works fine with the drivers, same os spec in sig!