*** Official DCS World Thread ***

Soldato
Joined
16 Jun 2005
Posts
2,929
Location
Back in the UK
Both look nice, but the Virpil ones really catch my eye. A bit more money than I'm looking to spend. However, going by my current form, I'd probably be better off just buying quality than buying cheap, as no doubt i'll just end up buying a more expensive set in the end anyway...
I'll definitely need Rudder control ... dammit, this is just as deep a pit as sim racing!!!:cry:

If you have a Racing sim set up you can set up your racing pedals as rudders. using the clutch and accelerator bound together as a rudder axis and the brake as a wheel brake.

Google it, while its not ideal (the pedals obviously aren't on a bar/pully) it works and saves you money and you just need to remember to only press one pedal at a time.
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Jan 2006
Posts
3,720
Location
Catterick/Dundee
If you have a Racing sim set up you can set up your racing pedals as rudders. using the clutch and accelerator bound together as a rudder axis and the brake as a wheel brake.

Google it, while its not ideal (the pedals obviously aren't on a bar/pully) it works and saves you money and you just need to remember to only press one pedal at a time.
Interesting concept, whilst I'll most likely end up buying a proper Rudder setup that solution may indeed sufice in the short-term until I decide which rudder setup to get, as I believe the Warthog donst have twist stick.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Apr 2016
Posts
3,243
Damn it... I have ZERO impulse control...

TM Warthog HOTAS inbound, I couldnt help myself, I've been bitten by the bug, this is gonna end up spiraling out of control:rolleyes: Already eying up the F/A18c stick for it and a set of rudder pedals (Not the TM ones, at the moment at least, way too pricey:eek:).
Any suggestions for this? As nice as the TM ones are, I just cant justify £400+, will probably seek out something like a set of logitech G pro rudder pedals.

Starting to get a feel for it F18, Still sucking hard when it comes to close in dogfighting, I'll last a turn or two before being turned inside out...:cry:
What’s your airspeed in the turn? Optimum hornet turn speed is around 400-450 knots.
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Jan 2006
Posts
3,720
Location
Catterick/Dundee
What’s your airspeed in the turn? Optimum hornet turn speed is around 400-450 knots.
I've usually been initiating the turn at that sort of speed or slightly higher. However, where I think I'm struggling is to maintain it. It'll come with practice no doubt.

TM Warthog setup and configured, rudder(race sim pedals) also setup, easier than I thought, and it was done natively in DCS, no messing about with VJoy or the likes.
The X52 is by no means a bad HOTAS, but JEEZ!!! What a difference! The feel and control I have with the TM Warthog is on another planet. The stiffer/heavier feel on the stick makes the fine control and manouvre so much easier. On top of that the button layout and configuration is so much easier to work with. I'm so glad I made the upgrade:D
 
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
23 Dec 2002
Posts
9,564
Location
London
Yesterday was the latest OB update.
In addition, the new South Atlantic map became available for OB users, all 3.1 million square Km
 
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
23 Dec 2002
Posts
9,564
Location
London
DCS summer sale now on.

Additionally, Tacview is on sale. If you haven’t got it already, is extremely useful for improving your understanding of how to engage other aircraft and avoid being shot down by SAM
 
Associate
Joined
14 Aug 2006
Posts
1,365
Location
Land of Dragons
Most people I fly with are using 32Gb memory happily on Syria.
You can always do the 2 week trial and see how you get on with it before purchase.


Cheers for this, I'd forgotten I had the option of the 2 week trials as I run the stand alone version, not the steam version.
I will use this option next weekend.
 
Top Bottom