1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**Official THIEF-Incorporating AMD™ Mantle™/True Audio™/Bench mark Thread**

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by tommybhoy, Feb 16, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    That's weird, crossfire has started working on Thief. Nixxes must have patched it in via yesterdays patch. Scaling is poor, but its definitely working. Will get a quick stock benchmark up shortly. Apologies for blaming AMD.
     
  2. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,431

    Location: Surrey

    Not looked to see its scaling for me on the green team but performance is flawless. I'm a stickler for low res textures though and this game has a few. Was expecting a bit more, but still a good looking game.
     
  3. Jono8

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 20, 2007

    Posts: 30,295

    Location: Surrey

    It is a good looking game but still a disappointment for "next gen". We really need some Unreal Engine 4 games to start coming out. What is the first game to use UE4?
     
  4. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,431

    Location: Surrey

    I'm not sure about the fundamental differences with ue4 but it doesn't really look like it's had much uptake yet besides the demos Epic have created themselves. UE3 is obviously just in most devs comfort zones
     
  5. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    Well i managed one quick run and now the game won't even load. Tried verifying files on steam, tried everything i can think of. Just get a black screen and nothing happens. Can alt tab out and carry on using the pc, but the game never loads. Thief.exe uses 390mb of ram and then stops, as well as 40% cpu but nothing else happens. Did some googling and its a known issue supposedly. Tried all the fixes listed but none work. No idea if my score is correct or not as i only got to run it once. Why it worked once and then never again, no idea. :D

    2700k@4.8ghz
    290 crossfire 975/1250
    14.2 Beta

    [​IMG]
     
  6. TheRealDeal

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 9,380

    At a quick glance that looks about 40-45% scaling. Think Gregs Titan sli showed similar scaling.
     
  7. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    I can probably better that score a bit without overclocking, but i was not expecting to only be able to do one run. I'm going to try redownloading the game tonight, but it feels like a profile or config file has become corrupt or something.
     
  8. triss

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2013

    Posts: 2,716

    Look for your settings file in My documents and rename it see if it creates a new one and sorts itself out?
     
  9. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    There was a Thief folder there but it had a crash dmp file in it and that was it.
     
  10. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,431

    Location: Surrey

    Stock run for now. Will do some overclocked runs tomorrow.

    1440P

    780Ti Tri SLi

    4960 @ 4.0

    Scaling is fairly non existent over 3 cards

    [​IMG]



    1080P

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014
  11. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    Reinstalled to a different hard drive and its working again, yay. As i ran the game it said error syncing to steam so i reckon the steam cloud had a corrupted profile or something.
     
  12. triss

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2013

    Posts: 2,716

    Glad its working now retest and report back kind sir :)
     
  13. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,577

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Scores updated, some aren't included as not enough info, if anyone wants them included, quote them with clocks please.

    Matt, seriously, you need a new psu bud:

    290 CrossFire@almost stock for BM'ing=[​IMG]

    ;):p:D
     
  14. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,577

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Just an update after checking if 3D works on AMD after the update, no it doesn't, the 3D option is now greyed out.:o

    On the other hand it's looking really good on 3D through Tridef with high fps, a much needed improvement on the visual aspect using 3D.

    Looks like Mantle will be a no go for me as Tridef will no doubt be better than the in game 3D anyway, so looks like I'm just waiting on TA then I can start playing.:D

    Daylight, it will be released on April 8th:

     
  15. BaDBoY_uK

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,067

    Daylight looks good but nothing new... it looks like Outlast with a female lead
     
  16. Jono8

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 20, 2007

    Posts: 30,295

    Location: Surrey

    I have updated my post with the overlock for my cards so they can be added to the dual gpu list now :)
     
  17. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,331

    Location: Dalek flagship

    :eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
  18. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,431

    Location: Surrey

    I didn't plus no point as the game supports multi GPUS about as well as my nans stove. More like Gaming Devolved. You've added my 1440p result to 1080p mate.

    Stock clocks are 980/3500
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  19. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,331

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Does the 13.12 drivers support this game
     
  20. whyscotty

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 6, 2012

    Posts: 9,398

    Location: Wigan

    4770K @ 4.7 Titan TriSli @ 1280/1895

    1080

    [​IMG]

    3 card scaling isn't good :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.