Ok, how will this work? (RSJ related)

Soldato
Looks like the currently installed beam is too high in that case. I can't see how theyd do it.

In contrast If the sub floor it's supporting was too high (ie. Red beam too low) then you could prop timbers under the blue beam.

FYI I'm no expert!

Associate
If a builder is doing this - I wouldn't let any more work commence until you and the builder clearly understand whats going on. You will likely have to box in the Blue beam unless your dropping your ceiling height.

A t section is usually used to join beams - i'd say the rear beam is set too high and its not been planned properly, if your paying for this get them to put it right.

Associate
Is it possible that the builder is planning on fitting the blue beam at joist level? I.e. cutting through the joists and hanging them onto the blue beam, allowing the blue beam to sit at the same height as the red beam. Ths would also mean that the blue beam would get hidden in your ceiling, which is an added bonus.

Soldato
I'm not clued up enough to help you but please keep us updated on progress. My 1930s semi is identical and we are starting building work on an extension similar to yours in January.

We opted to leave internal walls in and just remove the large patio door for access. Didn't wanna spend more money on steels and we liked the idea of making our current kitchen into a utility room and having our dining room as a "snug".

Soldato
It seems highly unlikely that cutting existing joists to bodge into a steel has been planned for.

You'd simply avoid such risky and complicated work and have the other steel at an appropriate level.

Bottom line is you either have a boxed in steel or a lowered ceiling height... The latter isn't exactly great and the former is seemingly unavoidable without a compete rework of the subfloor and joist above.

Clarify the work and reference the plans?

Soldato