Associate
Hello,

computer = Dell T5500
CPU = Intel Xeon E5620
GPU = Nvidia 1050-ti
Ram = 32gb DDR3
Everything else is stock.

I am aware I am using a server to game. Cool huh?

I am new to this forum and am looking for advice. I have been running the setup above for a couple of years, she has served me well. I like to game and upgraded my graphics card to the 1050-ti because newer games demanded it. I bought it because it was insanely cheap.

My present problem is that I will not be able to run the new Call of Duty without a faster CPU. I have never been into shooters, preferring strategy games like CKII and Total War. However, I am now at university and many of my friends are buying this game and I would like to play with them.

Currently, my CPU runs at 2.4ghz. I believe, after searching online, that I could overclock it to run much, much faster. However, this would require a new motherboard. It may also require a new cooling system, a new power supply, and a new case. I honestly don't know. What I do know is, money is tight as a student and I want to play the new COD without sinking too much money into a whole new system.

I have other issues I have identified too. I have Windows 7, which will not run DirectX12... Which I need. My university will supply me with a legitimate copy of Windows 10. Perfect! except it's not because I need to find out whether I need a new motherboard to overclock. The ones I have been looking at, such as the X58, which are very overclockable, cannot run Windows 10! gutted. I am stumped at the moment.

I apologise for my lack of IT skills, I am new to this. I am having a great time learning more and more about computers though. I did not think I would have this much fun.

Thank you for all your help,
LucifersLandLord

Last edited:
Soldato
Honestly I'd be looking at a complete new system apart from your 1050ti...

I'd be looking at something like the following as throwing money at such an old system would be peeing it up the wall.