Painting the Bedroom Advice

Associate
Hi, I'm moving into a new house and need to paint the bedroom.
However I do not understand the procedure in painting already painted walls. This is my first time painting.
I will be using Dulux Trade Paint.

The walls are already painted with 2 colours. Light purple and light green (lemongrass). I want to paint it clouded pearl (a greyish white).

I've prepared the walls I think. So, filled holes with Spackle and sanding is done.
do I really need to clean the walls with sugar soap? because I've kinda skipped that. Is it still do-able at this stage?

So, for when I do actually paint. I seems applying undercoat is recommended as it helps for when I apply the top coat of paint (less coats).
But, I am not sure which one is the right tin of undercoat paint to buy on the Dulux website.

there is undercoats for interior wood and metal surfaces. But I am trying to apply it on already painted surfaces. Is that even suitable? I'm puzzled.

Oh, And any recommendations for brushes and rollers? I hear they make a lot of difference compared to using cheaper ones.

EDIT: Oh, I've forgot to ask you guys what finish is best for the top coat (clouded pearl colour) on the wall. Matt? Flat Matt? Silk? etc...
Also, What about the ceiling finish and trim finish? Ceiling and trimmings will also be a white colour.

My parents have gone silk all over the house (they have VERY little experience in painting and have done what they like. sigh...).

Thanks.

Last edited:
Soldato
Req I'd personally have just sanded the walls to 'key' them and then I'd have used a cloth and sugar soap to wipe down the dust and any crap left on them. I wouldn't over think it too much beyond that.

Oh and definitely get a good brush. A two inch angled brush from Screwfix for about 6 quid was the best painting tool I've bought.

SPG

SPG

Soldato
Yeah a little wash of sugar soap will do it good.