Patriot Viper 4000MHz on Ryzen 9 X570 timing help

Associate
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
So I upgraded recently and for the first time in my life I went with AMD (much better value). I have a ROG Hero Crossfire VIII X570 mobo, R9 3900X CPU, but kep the 2x8GB Patriot Viper Steel 4000 19-19-19-39 kit from my 6th gen i7 build.

I am having a horrid time getting the most out of these bloomin sticks. I want to keep my FCLK to 1:1, and I can get the system stable at 3800MHz with the 19-19-19-39 timings (system seems to set em to 20-19-19-39). I would dearly like to get these B-Die equipped sticks to perform better as I know I am leaving performance on the table. (I have Aspergers and details like this drive me insane). I suspect I can tighten the timings up a bit to improve things; but I am having no luck.

Has anyone here got these sticks running nicely on a X570 board? I know they are not on the QVL list and I am happy to run my FCLK at 1900MHz with 3800MHz ram; I just want to get the best timings I can please.

Can anyone help a damsel in distress? ;) Thanks :confused:
 
Associate
Joined
29 Jun 2009
Posts
549
So I upgraded recently and for the first time in my life I went with AMD (much better value). I have a ROG Hero Crossfire VIII X570 mobo, R9 3900X CPU, but kep the 2x8GB Patriot Viper Steel 4000 19-19-19-39 kit from my 6th gen i7 build.

I am having a horrid time getting the most out of these bloomin sticks. I want to keep my FCLK to 1:1, and I can get the system stable at 3800MHz with the 19-19-19-39 timings (system seems to set em to 20-19-19-39). I would dearly like to get these B-Die equipped sticks to perform better as I know I am leaving performance on the table. (I have Aspergers and details like this drive me insane). I suspect I can tighten the timings up a bit to improve things; but I am having no luck.

Has anyone here got these sticks running nicely on a X570 board? I know they are not on the QVL list and I am happy to run my FCLK at 1900MHz with 3800MHz ram; I just want to get the best timings I can please.

Can anyone help a damsel in distress? ;) Thanks :confused:

As you're already at 1900mhz IF then just decide what memory voltage you feel is safe to run (B-Die can take up to 1.5v as a daily limit) and start with all timings on Auto then work your way through this post. You'll have to test the IMC to Dram latencies from a different starting point as you are unlikely to be at the same timings the chap the post was directed towards is using, but other than that I made the rest of the instructions as generic as possible. Remember to take one step at a time, only move on to the next step once you have completed the one before it.
If you want to learn a bit more there's a ton of B-Die / AMD specific info in the rest of that thread along with plenty of screenshots from other users that you can use to compare with your performance. Its a long read - ideal browsing material while you do multiple stability tests :)

Quick memory test using y-cruncher at 2.5B places.
Thorough test using a longer run with something like Testmem5 with the anta777 extreme config (free) or karhu stress test (paid). These apps are proven to be best at picking up memory issues other stress tests miss.
Verify performance gains by using 3DMark Timespy cpu test only and the inbuilt membench test included in Ryzen Dram calculator in both easy and default mode.

Use a fan over your memory while thorough stress testing. It'll heat up far more than it ever will in normal everyday use which can introduce errors from overheating if its not actively cooled.
Always test memory at 1:1 fabric settings but with your cpu at stock. Recheck your cpu overclock (if you are using manual overclocking) once your memory overclock is stable and dialled in.

Good luck! :)
 
Associate
Joined
29 Jun 2009
Posts
549
Thank you so very much for a detailed reply.

That gives me lots to review and plan for tomorrow:)

i will post back with my results

No worries, you should be doing way better than CL 19 @ 3800mhz :). Those sticks are at the lower end of performance B-Die bins but should still do fairly well.

Once thing that's not mentioned in the post I linked is Gear Down Mode (as the chap it was directed at already had it disabled). As you are running 8gb sticks set that to disabled and go with 1T command rate right from the start, you should have no problems with that.

If you get stuck at any point use Zentimings to post up your memory timings - it captures every timing you can set in bios (and a few extras you can't) while being way more lightweight than Ryzen Master.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
And @MrPils is a God when it comes to RAM tuning...
I have played about a bit today without much success. I think I am going to sell these to my brother (he inherited my old i7-6700K & ROG Hero VIII Z170 setup, and that's the combo that these Patriots were purchased for). He will be chuffed.

Hubby was kind enough to order me a set of the TeamGroup Ripped Edition 8-pack 16GB (2x8) 3600MHz CAS 14-15-15-35, coming tomorrow. At least they are on my QVL so I have a good base to start with. I am confident they will run nicely at 3800 1:1 at CL16 or better.

I just can't handle the stress to be honest, (timings for ram were so much easier back in my EOCF Pentium 640 CPU days...)... :p The timing options available on my current mobo is simply astonishing!

Thanks to MrPills for the awesome advice
 
Associate
Joined
29 Jun 2009
Posts
549
I have played about a bit today without much success. I think I am going to sell these to my brother (he inherited my old i7-6700K & ROG Hero VIII Z170 setup, and that's the combo that these Patriots were purchased for). He will be chuffed.

Hubby was kind enough to order me a set of the TeamGroup Ripped Edition 8-pack 16GB (2x8) 3600MHz CAS 14-15-15-35, coming tomorrow. At least they are on my QVL so I have a good base to start with. I am confident they will run nicely at 3800 1:1 at CL16 or better.

I just can't handle the stress to be honest, (timings for ram were so much easier back in my EOCF Pentium 640 CPU days...)... :p The timing options available on my current mobo is simply astonishing!

Thanks to MrPills for the awesome advice

I hit terrible issues with my crosshair impact last night using 2 x 8gb single sided B-Die sticks. The 4000mhz C15 kit I was originally planning to test is an old kit but is newly manufactured, I also sanity checked with my trusty Patriot 4400 C19 2 x 8gb kit and had the same issues with both. After some google-fu today I've found many similar tales of woe all originating back to Asus' Ryzen 5000 compatible Crosshair bioses mostly seeming to affect single sided sticks of B-Die. I wouldn't blame your sticks or ability yet, its looking very likely to be bios issues. My Gskill 4000mhz C16 2 x 16gb kit runs perfectly in this board, but neither the Gskill 4000 C15 2 x 8gb nor Patriot 4400 C19 play ball at all. It'll be interesting to hear how you get on with the TeamGroup 3600 C14 kit as that is somewhere in between my working 32gb kit and the not working 16gb Patriot kit in terms of age. For what its worth I'm on the 2402 bios right now, there's a 2502 and 2702 bios out since but neither are reported to fix anything and have their own problems in addition. I'm going to have another crack at fixing the 2 x 8gb problem with bios settings as my 2 x 16gb kit works really well right now at 3800mhz and I don't want to end up messing with bios versions and find myself with nothing working at all at the end of it.

Just thought I'd pass on that it probably wasn't you doing anything wrong, I know how frustrating it can be from last nights experience! If you find the Teamgroup sticks behave similarly try the different bios versions and see if they suddenly spring to life :)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
UPDATE: having been impatient for the Corsair kit, I decided to just try it at the DOCP settings of 4000Mhz 19-19-19-39, with a manual fclk of 1800, and 1.45v. It is stable as a rock! runs smooth and no boot issues whatsoever, and despite the asynchronous infinity fabric clock, it seems to have lost nothing in the performance area.

So I take it all back: these Patriot Viper Steel DDR4-4000's are still amazing value. They may not be on the QVL list for the Asus Crossfire Hero VIII, they are absolutely fine with minimal fuss.

Decided to cancel my order for the Corsair QVL approved kit, and hubby treated me to a Jonny Silverhand statue, Cyberpunk 2077 book and a pack of the Corsair fake rams with ARGB! One very happy Bunny indeed.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Jan 2019
Posts
3,214
Location
bedlam
4000Mhz 19-19-19-39, with a manual fclk of 1800

you need to keep the MCLK and FCLK the same.
the only reason to set different clocks is if your FCLK(fabric) is bad and needs to be very low. in the case say... 1600FCLK and 2000MCLK the performance hit from them been unlinked can be negated by the must faster ram speed
For something as close as 1800/2000 you will never make up the hit in performance.

lock the MCLK and FCLK to 1800 drop ram voltage to 1.35v and start working on timings.
only UP Ram voltage as and when needed, most ram takes a crap at 50c(ish) and will show errors in testing because of the heat not because if stability.

my ram OC metherd is Simple... work on 1 primary timing at a time. set XMP adjust MCLK to 1800mhz(3600mkz) turn on "gear down mode" and set command rate to 1T.

So..

3600Mhz - 19-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 18-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 14-19-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD
and so on When its bad go to last known good and move on.

3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-18-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-17-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD

And just work your way down the rows...
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
you need to keep the MCLK and FCLK the same.
the only reason to set different clocks is if your FCLK(fabric) is bad and needs to be very low. in the case say... 1600FCLK and 2000MCLK the performance hit from them been unlinked can be negated by the must faster ram speed
For something as close as 1800/2000 you will never make up the hit in performance.

lock the MCLK and FCLK to 1800 drop ram voltage to 1.35v and start working on timings.
only UP Ram voltage as and when needed, most ram takes a crap at 50c(ish) and will show errors in testing because of the heat not because if stability.

my ram OC metherd is Simple... work on 1 primary timing at a time. set XMP adjust MCLK to 1800mhz(3600mkz) turn on "gear down mode" and set command rate to 1T.

So..

3600Mhz - 19-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 18-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 14-19-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD
and so on When its bad go to last known good and move on.

3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-18-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-17-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD

And just work your way down the rows...

Totally.

I just wanted to see it run stable at the XMP settings. I previously had issues with only 1.35v, so dialed in 1.45v as the are samsung b-die. Happy that it works without any real hassle.

I will of course be optimising them when I have enjoyed a bit of Elite first :) got me some bounty's to hunt...

My test plan is pretty similar but starting at 3800 as my fclk is quite happy at 1900 without much hassle. If I can, I intend to do a little 3800 Sync vrs 4000 Async real world testing just for community info. Oh, and because I feel compelled to due to my Aspergers OCD.

...watch this space...
 
Soldato
Joined
20 Nov 2005
Posts
4,581
Location
Redditch
Sorry to hijack the thread but it sort of fits in with whats being discussed.

My 3600mhz memory 4x8gb will run 4000mhz no problem, however my IF maxes out at 1866 so I'm assuming it would be better if I just left everything at 1800 & worked on tighter timings?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
you need to keep the MCLK and FCLK the same.
the only reason to set different clocks is if your FCLK(fabric) is bad and needs to be very low. in the case say... 1600FCLK and 2000MCLK the performance hit from them been unlinked can be negated by the must faster ram speed
For something as close as 1800/2000 you will never make up the hit in performance.

lock the MCLK and FCLK to 1800 drop ram voltage to 1.35v and start working on timings.
only UP Ram voltage as and when needed, most ram takes a crap at 50c(ish) and will show errors in testing because of the heat not because if stability.

my ram OC metherd is Simple... work on 1 primary timing at a time. set XMP adjust MCLK to 1800mhz(3600mkz) turn on "gear down mode" and set command rate to 1T.

So..

3600Mhz - 19-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 18-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 14-19-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD
and so on When its bad go to last known good and move on.

3600Mhz - 16-19-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-18-19-39 1t ... TEST GOOD
3600Mhz - 16-17-19-39 1t ... TEST BAD

And just work your way down the rows...

Well I have got it running very stable just on 3800 1:1 20-19-19-19-38

Ryzen Memory Calculator suggests I should be able to get these to 16-16-17-16-34 with a bunch of tweaks. I am going to slowly head for that, and see how close I can get. I did manage my best Firestrike yet with the current settings (14,522, with CPU score record for me of 12245)!

I will keep this thread updated with my progress. So glad I decided to stay with this Patriot kit after all. It seems to be full of potential as long I follow my own mantra for testing : One step at a time, Test well then move on...Patience is key.

Rachel
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
No worries, you should be doing way better than CL 19 @ 3800mhz :). Those sticks are at the lower end of performance B-Die bins but should still do fairly well.

Once thing that's not mentioned in the post I linked is Gear Down Mode (as the chap it was directed at already had it disabled). As you are running 8gb sticks set that to disabled and go with 1T command rate right from the start, you should have no problems with that.

If you get stuck at any point use Zentimings to post up your memory timings - it captures every timing you can set in bios (and a few extras you can't) while being way more lightweight than Ryzen Master.
I am moving forward with slowly testing/tightening my timings at 3800 1:1
If I get stuck, am I ok to post my current status with zentimings and ask for a drop from your cup of wisdom?

Thanks
 
Associate
Joined
29 Jun 2009
Posts
549
I am moving forward with slowly testing/tightening my timings at 3800 1:1
If I get stuck, am I ok to post my current status with zentimings and ask for a drop from your cup of wisdom?

Thanks

Yeah sure, just @ me or quote me so it pops up in my alerts :)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
25 Nov 2020
Posts
45
Location
Weymouth, Dorset
Yeah sure, just @ me or quote me so it pops up in my alerts :)

My current timings etc. I am tempted to put the new AGESA 1.1.9.0 beta on as it is said to be able to run fclk at 2000; meaning I could perhaps just use my XMP Profile of 4000 19-19-19-38, but I am hesitant. I am open to suggestions...

ZenTimings_Screenshot.png
 
Associate
Joined
11 Apr 2021
Posts
3
i have these at 3400 cl14 at 1.35v this seems to be a sweet spot for ryzen the fps lows are far better than stock 4000 cl19 and my fabric set to 1700
 
Associate
Joined
29 Mar 2021
Posts
329
My current timings etc. I am tempted to put the new AGESA 1.1.9.0 beta on as it is said to be able to run fclk at 2000; meaning I could perhaps just use my XMP Profile of 4000 19-19-19-38, but I am hesitant. I am open to suggestions...

ZenTimings_Screenshot.png

Did you get any further with this, running mine at 3600 16-16-16-34 geardown mode and 1.35v
 
Top Bottom