1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Picked up an LG OLED55B6V

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by MG42Maniac, Nov 21, 2016.

  1. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 5,739

    Location: Fareham

    Have it off here.
     
  2. peahead

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 2, 2003

    Posts: 3,580

    I have always kept mine on guess it helps stop image retention.
     
  3. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 14,678

    Location: Telford

    Keep it on helps prevent burning. I have already seen some minor retention on mine so anything that helps is staying on....
     
  4. pioneer2000

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 4,501

    Location: Essex

    What content has caused you to have retention issues already? Games?
     
  5. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 14,678

    Location: Telford

    The lg menu bar at the bottom was still a bit visible. It went away fairly quickly.

    I'm not concerned it's not permanent.
     
  6. pioneer2000

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 4,501

    Location: Essex

    Sure, but it must be pretty prone to it if it's own menu bars leave temporary retention!

    That sort of thing would annoy me in games, as you'd surely get things like the HUD overlaying on top of a map screen in say Watchdogs or the like...
     
  7. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 14,678

    Location: Telford

    Not had it since not noticed anything in games. When you turn it off it runs a cleanup cycle to help.

    This one is considerably better than my last though for some reason. Shame I can't do a side by side.
     
  8. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 5,739

    Location: Fareham

    The retention is more apparent one a new panel, it should get a bit better with it in time.

    Any retention you do see goes pretty quickly as well. It's best to treat it like you would a plasma, permanent retention is unlikely.
     
  9. ebilcake

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2007

    Posts: 456

    Anyone had any luck using deep color mode with nvidia hardware?
     
  10. Tefal

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jun 30, 2007

    Posts: 62,287

    Location: Wales

    Mine didnt arrive :(
     
  11. Firefox35

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 816

    Location: UK

    I have tried but the screen starts flickering when I enable it, I have a 1080, bought a high speed slightly shorter HDMI hoping that would cure it but nope, still does it.
     
  12. beachBOYken

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 18, 2007

    Posts: 7,646

    Location: London

    Where did you order from?
     
  13. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 5,739

    Location: Fareham

    Shame, they should refund the paid for delivery service though!
     
  14. beachBOYken

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 18, 2007

    Posts: 7,646

    Location: London

    He ordered from JL, thought they were great for delivery, they have never let me down so far, something must of gone wrong somewhere.

    I have always used the free delivery service and got a selected date of delivery and a phone call before they turn up.
     
  15. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 14,678

    Location: Telford

    JL have been awful for me in the past. Had a complete nightmare with my fridge freezer with them....
     
  16. pioneer2000

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 4,501

    Location: Essex

    My KS8000 has been delivered by JL today... they were really good in fairness.
     
  17. juno_first

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 18, 2003

    Posts: 2,368

    Location: Stoke, England

    Can this tv do 4k 60p 4:4:4
    My ub700 keeps flickering & turning pink in the menu screen but is ok with a 4k disc.
    Using a short gold plated hdmi 2.0a cable.
    Had no hassle from a dx902
     
  18. pioneer2000

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 4,501

    Location: Essex

    1080p @ 60Hz @ 4:4:4 : Yes
    1080p @ 120Hz : No
    4k @ 60Hz : Yes
    4k @ 60Hz @ 4:4:4 : Yes
     
  19. juno_first

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 18, 2003

    Posts: 2,368

    Location: Stoke, England

    Thanks for that. I'll try a different cable.
    Oh it's an E6 but same I'd guess.
    Ever since the UB700 had a firmware update which also added Netflix HDR but DV looks way better :cool:
     
  20. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 14,678

    Location: Telford

    2.0a refers to the connection standard and not the cable. You need a cable that states it is "High Speed". The Amazon basics cables work fine for me....
     


Share This Page