1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** Please enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account ****

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Feek, 14 Oct 2021.

  1. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2008

    Posts: 19,588

    Location: London

    Yeah that works when you are happy to keep cookies for ages. I use private browsing and clear out cookies when I close a window. Sure I could leave it open, but habits.
     
  2. Bouton Aide

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,523

    The standard user ain't going to do that. That's one of the problems even with a password vault. I have my server data back up twice a day automatically as well but once a month I do export my vault to a private store sitting beside me.
     
  3. dLockers

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 21 Jan 2010

    Posts: 8,263

    In modern browsers you can select favourite websites to preserve?
     
  4. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2008

    Posts: 19,588

    Location: London

    That I have not looked into be fair. Will check that out, thank you.
     
  5. Rainmaker

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Aug 2007

    Posts: 9,041

    Location: Liverpool

    CookieAutoDelete and whitelist your trusted sites. It's somewhat redundant in Firefox, especially with Fission enabled, as every individual site now gets its own cookie jar. That way, no cross-site tracking from third parties is possible. Plus you have the option for container tabs and such.
     
  6. G J

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Oct 2008

    Posts: 1,055

    Thanks for the replies and some great advice in this thread, the very few sites I use I have different account names and passwords its why I can remember them all. :D

    I dont use 2FA as nothing I use requires it but I'll look into it as it seem its becoming more and more commmon place to require it.

    I have an old phone that could be used though even with my payg phone I get messsages every now and again to it saying the number could be removed if I dont put credit on it for ages, I dont wnat to set up a phone/SIM and it get removed. :confused:
     
  7. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,603

    Location: On Ocuk

    I just came on to the forum and OCUK had logged me out asking me to input a security code via phone app! Did someone try to access my account or was this just a security check up?
     
  8. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,928

    Location: South Coast

    This is normal, every so often I will get the 2FA prompt when visiting the forum too. I just thought it was part of normal "confirmation that it is me. If it was
    someone trying to get in, you'd get an email saying failed login attempt/forgot sign in process etc.


    That's Pay&Go for you though, most networks will remove your account if it's idle too long. You could get a £6 a month monthly SIM only contract though, maybe even cheaper than that these days.

    Edit*
    £5 a month with 1GB data, sorted: https://mobile.asda.com/bundles/standard?bundle=BUN5
     
  9. XeNoN89

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Mar 2007

    Posts: 8,671

    Location: SW19

    Just done mine - should have done it already considering I'm a security consultant tbh :p

    All my more important things I've used 2fa for years though
     
  10. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 233,680

    Location: In the radio shack

    Since we moved to Xenforo so over four years!
     
  11. Rainmaker

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Aug 2007

    Posts: 9,041

    Location: Liverpool

    <old man> That was never four years ago?! </old man>
     
  12. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,603

    Location: On Ocuk

    I've always enabled 2FA, however I've never done the QR code thing before! Which I now have on all my other accounts that I know of :D
     
  13. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,509

    Location: Nottingham

    If you're on the latest Apple OS's then you can use them to generate 2FA codes and the OS will even autofill them for you.
     
  14. Bassmansam

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,351

    I just tried to do 2ga via email and my account is linked to my uni email that i havent had access to in over ten years, i did do manage to authenticate via the google app.
    How can i change my email please?
     
  15. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 233,680

    Location: In the radio shack

    You should be able to go into your account and change your email address first. Then when that’s done, enable 2FA. If you have problems, start a thread in FCD and we’ll do it for you.
     
  16. andy_mk3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 11,535

    Location: Lincolnshire

  17. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 30,144

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    If you've got 2fA enabled it lasts for 30 days on a device if you tell it to remember you, then will ask you to enter a new code once the old one expires.
     
  18. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,906

    Location: Kent.

    @Feek Woops I was well behind then.
     
  19. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 233,680

    Location: In the radio shack

  20. andy_mk3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 11,535

    Location: Lincolnshire

    ?

    The page I expected to see it doesn't have email listed, that's the only page I can find with email on there.
     
    Last edited: 14 Oct 2021