Please teach me how to clock my new 2500k

Soldato
Joined
20 Nov 2006
Posts
6,779
Just finished rigging up my 2500k.

Mobo is; Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3.

I don't know where to start with this as intel is all new too me.

HELP!

:)
 
Associate
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Heya, I got same board/CPU as you. Simple way firstly is Go on the bios....M.I.T which is the first option, then 2nd option. Change from x33 to x44 (people will say try x40/42/44etc) but it wont fry it or anything. Save (F10) load up windows. Install CPU-Z Intel Burn test 2.52v. HWMonitor and let us know how it goes.

On Intel Burn test, run for 10 loops on very high. Then show us some sexy screenies :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
20 Nov 2006
Posts
6,779
Do i need to up the voltage or will the mobo take care of this iteself?

I have already gone into mobo and force the memory profile for my Vengeance ram, is that OK?
 
Associate
Joined
26 Aug 2011
Posts
78
Do i need to up the voltage or will the mobo take care of this iteself?

I have already gone into mobo and force the memory profile for my Vengeance ram, is that OK?

mobo will adjust voltages to your overclock, but almost all the times mobo will set a little bit higher voltages than it should so simply as you get to know all bios you will be able to lower it :) lower voltages = lower temperatures
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Sep 2010
Posts
24,787
Start with slowly pumping up the vcore. Start with 1.56 volts

What :eek:

That will soon kill their CPU.

I'm using less than 1.35V for 4.6GHz.

OP, do you have a good CPU cooler?

If you're using the Intel stock cooler then you're looking at around 4GHz before temperatures get too high.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
I just used the auto vcore, tested if stable, then moved vcore down. My vcore on auto was 1.37, got it down to 1.33 which Im ok with
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
20 Nov 2006
Posts
6,779
Ok, so how does this look;

2500koverclock.jpg
 
Associate
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
On Intel Burn test, where it says stress level. Click very high. Temps seem normal for 1.36v

what cooler you got aswell?
 
Associate
Joined
26 Aug 2011
Posts
78
1.044V for 4.4GHz :eek:

Do you have some sort of wonder chip?

Was the CPU-Z screenshot taken while IntelBurnTest was running or does the voltage increase when it is?

Chip was not in stres (I think) and mobo lower it :)

@Damien.

When you finish with IBT download prime 95 and do a Blend test for 30+ minutes.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
3 Aug 2011
Posts
1,313
Location
Northwich
1.044V for 4.4GHz :eek:

Do you have some sort of wonder chip?

Was the CPU-Z screenshot taken while IntelBurnTest was running or does the voltage increase when it is?

It's 1.36v under load ;)

I'm @ 4.6GHz with 1.32v so 4.4GHz should be around 1.26-1.28v
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
3 Aug 2011
Posts
1,313
Location
Northwich
That looks pretty good, either work on getting your volts down to below 1.3v, or better still leave the volts as they are for now and up the multiplier to 46.
 
Associate
Joined
26 Aug 2011
Posts
78

Now you can put x45 or x46. @ 1.3 - 1.36


Try this settings might help you getting it stable:


Extreme Load-Line Calibration
Set the CPU PLL to 1.9V
Set the VCCSA to 1.1V
Set the VCCIO to 1.106V

As soon as you done run 10 loops of IBT and Prime for few hrs.
 
Associate
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Now you can put x45 or x46. @ 1.3 - 1.36


Try this settings might help you getting it stable:


Extreme Load-Line Calibration
Set the CPU PLL to 1.9V
Set the VCCSA to 1.1V
Set the VCCIO to 1.106V

As soon as you done run 10 loops of IBT and Prime for few hrs.

On our boards LLC has level 1-7, what level would he need?
 
Top Bottom