1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plusnet to offer UNLIMITED FIBRE

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by bulldog147, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. Sho

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 21, 2006

    Posts: 4,429

    Location: Oldham

    Up and running to day with Plusnet. Kids were shocked to find out there was no internet today morning when they woke up. That ment no youtube :D

    Done several speedtest and syncing between 53-56mb.

    It's only first day. Expect to be syncing around 67-70mb soon, was getting with BT
     
  2. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    Yea, DLM is annoying, but it’s just part of the process unfortunately.
     
  3. rhysduck

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2009

    Posts: 6,255

    Location: Nelson, South Wales

    So how is plusnet? Its currently 24.99 a month for Unlimited Fibre Extra (39-55Mb).

    I'm currently with sky getting 55Mb but their systems are ***** and won't let me migrate to a new package so I'm looking to move.

    Is the router any good?
     
  4. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,771

    They're generally okay. I've had no reason to regret being one of their customers for several years.
    It's a rebadged BT HH5 and nothing to get excited about. On the plus side, they don't care if you use your own equipment, and it's a standard PPPoE connection so almost any VDSL modem/router will work without complications.
     
  5. Sho

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 21, 2006

    Posts: 4,429

    Location: Oldham

    So far so good. Its only been 2 days. Still in DLM period. Syncing around 56Mb. Should increase soon, hopefully

    I've found WiFi signel to be a little weak. BT hub was better. Maybe I need to tinker around with settings. If not can use my old bt hub if need be. There is a guide on plusnet forum.
     
  6. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,508

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I'm looking to move to Plusnet from BT purely for price. My contract ends with BT on the 19/02/2020, does this mean I can switch on the 19/01/2020 with minimal downtime?
     
  7. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,051

    Location: UK

    It's been a few years since I switched but from memory these days it is like any other utility with next to no downtime. IIRC I gave notice to my existing supplier in the month before contract end, they shipped the new router in the notice period, gave me my credentials in the same time frame and on the day just plugged the new one in and maybe had a couple of hours downtime.
     
  8. Sho

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 21, 2006

    Posts: 4,429

    Location: Oldham

    Ditched PlusnetHub and went back using BTHub6.

    No more complaints..... Easy guide on Plusnet forums for anyone who wants to use BTHub
     
  9. Sui

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 24, 2005

    Posts: 3,177

    Location: Brighton

    The Plusnet forums are the best part of going with Plusnet, the staff there actually help you.
     
  10. hartgeh3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2005

    Posts: 1,741

    I'm on fibre extra yet my line profile is - 32.41 Mbps :rolleyes: should be anywhere between 37-67!
    Started at 55Mbps last year!
     
  11. bulldog147

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 22, 2009

    Posts: 5,171


    Yes these are the PN rules below:

    For FTTC (Dynamic Line Management - DLM Policy)

    On the first day, your line will start at its fastest possible speed and Dynamic Line Management (DLM) will monitor the line for 24 hours.
    Depending on the line's stability, the speed will be adjusted then checked again in 24 hours.
    This will continue for up to 10 days until it finds the most stable speed for your line so please leave your Plusnet Hub One router turned on for the first 10 days while we are testing.
    We do this to make sure you have the fastest speed your line can support on a stable connection.
    While we are testing, you may notice some variations in your broadband speed and your connection may be intermittent at times - this is normal.
    Do not turn off your Plusnet Hub One router - keep it ON at all times because Dynamic Line Management (DLM) will monitor the line at all times.
    To avoid Dynamic Line Management (DLM) after 10 days turn off your Plusnet Hub One router from the main socket for at least 30 minutes before turn it back on.
     
  12. hartgeh3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2005

    Posts: 1,741

    When i signed up i was getting 54-58mbps 6 months on and dropped since.........funny how they give you a minimum line guarantee (37.1) and its usually 1 meg or 2 above it........
    My profile has been bumped back upto 40...far from the 67 from last year!
     
  13. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,391

    They don’t give you a guarantee as such, openreach provide them with the lines estimated sync and a range that allows for variables, if it falls below the minimum handback threshold, then openreach will treat it as a fault (this is the guarantee), if it’s just on the low side of the range, then it’s not something that they will usually investigate. Personally I’ve always had middle to near the top end of any estimate provided, but I appreciate it can be lower.
     
  14. hartgeh3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2005

    Posts: 1,741

    11up and 5down today and dead phone line.......lolz
     
  15. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 17,144

    Sounds like a Dis One Leg fault. A phone line uses two copper cables and if one becomes disconnected or severed then the broadband will still work, just much slower than usual but the phone won't. Call your ISP or see if you can run tests on their website via 4g on your mobile. Running the test will usually cut your broadband off so don't do it on WiFi.
     
  16. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,771

    It's a dead line so report it as a voice fault and avoid having to jump through diagnostic hoops.

    The broadband will probably recover once the voice fault is fixed.
     
  17. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 17,144

    Firs step any competent ISP should do is run a line test which should pick up the fault.
     
  18. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,508

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Joined Plus Net through Topcashback the other week but now on Topcashback my offer says declined by retailer. I've logged a claim with them but they cant review this until 27th Of Feb. Also spoke to Plus Net who can't do anything. Anyone had this issue before?
     
  19. hartgeh3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2005

    Posts: 1,741

    I already have an ongoing ticket open with them as my previous posts about the fibre not giving me the "guaranteed" minimal rate. It went back up after I reported it, think they reset the profile and I told them I will monitor it for the next 10 days, went to check last night and it all messed up again and worse now. I have updated the ticket and posts on either forum.

    @The1nonly1 Yes mine was declined aswell and they gave me some crap about it not being tracked, even though I had ebay and Eurocarparts track with no issues the same day!
     
  20. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,508

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Thanks @hartgeh3 I'll wait the time advised on Topcashback and then see where I go from there. The way I see it is that Plus Net, being the retailer, have declined this so fault is with them.