1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Powerlines? Mesh wifi? Help

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by tres, Feb 9, 2020.

  1. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 16, 2007

    Posts: 6,834

    Location: UK

    Bought a new build, biggest regret ever that I didn't get network cables installed during the build process!

    So I'm looking for guidance as to the best way to get the BT FTTP 300mb (which works perfectly when you're connected to the router, or nearby with wifi) to the office (which is upstairs, on the other side of the house).

    I bought some TP link cheap power lines, and get about 70mbps in the office. I bought a 802.11ac wifi card and with an aerial extension cable (so it's not behind the case against the wall), it hits about 100mbps. But I'd really like to achieve closer to the 300!

    I've read about the BT Complete Wifi disks, Google Wifi, Devolo Magic 2, Netgear Orbi, Plume etc.

    Other than destroyed the lovely fresh new walls, drilling countless joists and really upsetting the missus, does anyone have any experience or advice?
     
  2. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,006

    Location: Manchester

    You're going to have to bite the bullet and get some ethernet cabled in, fortunately you could just route it externally. We had 2 ethernet cables installed in a media plate where the FTTP ONT is located, and ran a couple of external Cat5e (could be Cat 6 if you want I guess) cables up the side of the house, into the attic then just a simply hole/conduit in the office ceiling, terminated in a surface mounted box/faceplate.

    Certainly easier than trying to get it behind Dot dab, through internal floors etc.
     
  3. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 16, 2007

    Posts: 6,834

    Location: UK

    Thanks, you might be right. No guttering or anything on that corner of the house to hide it behind unfortunately, that would have made things easier.
     
  4. 233

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 21, 2004

    Posts: 12,900

    Location: Glasgow

    if your on the same circuit powerlines are great, otherwise so so,


    speed plugged into the router 380/385 Mbits/second
    Home plugs 30/40 Mbits/second
    cheap Tendra mesh setup 200/220 Mbits/second

    Bit bit of cat5e ran from living room up the stairs and into the back bedroom 380/385 Mbits/second (guess what gets done when the other half isnt in :)

    hardwiring is the way forward if you can but a decent mesh setup will give good speeds especially in a new build(all our walls are solid brick )
     
  5. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,402

    Powerline is not and has never been great. You loose 2x% for every plug connection between each adapter. It’s for emergencies and situations where low bandwidth is acceptable, and certainly not for situations where speed is important.
     
  6. 233

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 21, 2004

    Posts: 12,900

    Location: Glasgow

    As I said fine on the same circuit I’ve seen well over 100 meg on them on the same ring but nothing beats hard wired
     
  7. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,863

    Location: North West

    Have a look at the Asus zenwifi XT8 - early reviews are good.

    Mir should smash that 300mbps - but obviously depends on your layout.
     
  8. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 16, 2007

    Posts: 6,834

    Location: UK

    I bought the Devolo Magic 2 home plugs, just to give the 'best' a try but I get 80Mbps

    We have the electrician round for a little job, he said it was a shame I didn't remember this during first fix, he would have put some cat 6 in for me around the house for next to nothing :(

    Mesh WiFi is the next thing to try.
    Failing that, the sparky said he could route network cable, it'll just be a full day's labour most likely

    Appreciate all your advice.
     
  9. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,426

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Don’t waste your time and money on mesh. First loss, least loss. A day of work for an electrician won’t be silly money compared to a good mesh system and you’ll get a connection that will do 1Gbps now and 10Gbps in future with a switch upgrade. It’s a no-brainier really. Or try and get a quote from a TV aerial installer. They’re used to running cables from the outside to the inside so they’re usually great at fitting external cable runs for access points and CCTV cameras.
     
  10. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 16, 2007

    Posts: 6,834

    Location: UK

    Good advice, and I've abandoned the mesh idea.
    I'll wait until the other half goes away for a couple of days, get the sparky in and plenty of time to repair holes etc.
     
  11. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,863

    Location: North West

    WJA96 provides sage advice.

    I have just got a rough quote of between £280 to £400 to have one cat6 installed from downstairs/front of house to back bedroom/upstairs. He’s coming to double check. The spark you recommended WJA96 seems to have vanished.

    https://www.southmancelec.co.uk/
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2020
  12. Swifty55

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 21, 2006

    Posts: 5,585

    Location: Home

    Takes 30 minutes or so to run your own cable if you have the tools.

    Done it at both mine and the parents house.
     
  13. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,863

    Location: North West

    So without going into it, I don’t be running my own :p Also, not sure you could neatly run cable around the outside of my house in 30 minutes.
     
  14. tres

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 16, 2007

    Posts: 6,834

    Location: UK

    The missus really wasn't keen on routing ethernet until I'd explored all options that didn't involve a drill.
    Picked up a BT complete wifi disk on ebay for £35 - solved pretty much everything. Whereas homeplugs were getting 70mbps and an 802.11ax card was getting about 80mbps, the mesh disk is hitting 270mbps (300mbps ffttp) with ping <15ms

    thanks for all your advice