1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with printer.

Discussion in 'Printers' started by Kennysevenfold, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. Kennysevenfold

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 7,945

    Location: Glasgow

    Not sure if this is the correct section, but here goes.

    Got new ink for my printer today, and replaced it.
    But the control panel for my printer says i have to buy Epson ink and not the generic stuff i have bought.

    Anyway to get around this and to get the printer working?

    Cheers guys.
     
  2. bignev72

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 22, 2012

    Posts: 1,115

    I thought it just warned you about this but then continued once you press ok?
     
  3. Kennysevenfold

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 7,945

    Location: Glasgow

    Yeah gave that a go with no joy :S Could i uninstall the software and the printer still work?
     
  4. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Aug 30, 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England

    Got to be worth a try deleting the Epsom software & letting Win7 chuck down a generic one.
     
  5. nelviss

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 3, 2011

    Posts: 610

    Location: sunderland

    just close the ink reminder box and change the carts like normal the printer wont know the diffrence, its just a trick to make you think you need to buy inks from them.

    what modle is it?
     
  6. Kennysevenfold

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 7,945

    Location: Glasgow

    Thanks guys will give it a go later when i get home.

    Its a stylus dx7400.
     
  7. Kennysevenfold

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 7,945

    Location: Glasgow

    Seems i inserted the new cartridges wrong :o

    Supposed to do it with the printer switched on?
    anyway, works now "no ink level warning coming up"

    But!!! prints as normal, but always gives me a blank sheet out?
    No ink on it :S
     
  8. Baron C

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2012

    Posts: 1,461

    Location: So where?

    do you mean you print, 2 pages come out and 1 of them is blank?

    My experience is;

    -You must make sure to 'fan' the paper like you would a deck of cards. As paper does compress in storage and the sheets need to be loosened so that they feed individually.
    -make sure that your word processor settings are correct. As pressing enter too many times can initiate the next page.
    -check that your printer feed is free of dust and greasy build up too, as this can affect paper feed efficiency
     
  9. Kennysevenfold

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 9, 2008

    Posts: 7,945

    Location: Glasgow

    No no mate, i mean if i print a 1 page document from office word, 1 page comes out, but its a blank piece of paper?????
     
  10. unleashed

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2012

    Posts: 471

    You could try rebooting the printer and printing a test page. If that fails have a go at diagnostics provided with the printer software and also windows diagnostics.
     
  11. Baron C

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 10, 2012

    Posts: 1,461

    Location: So where?

    you described it better, my experience was that Word would do a mental and print a blank page.

    Its why I mentioned looking into your word processer. Google it I think there was a fix for it.
     
  12. horrorwood

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 11, 2011

    Posts: 1,279

    Location: Leicestershire

    Sounds like you are using an old printer that you've just changed the inks on? If so its probably dried up and will never work again.

    Or maybe you have not removed the tabs off of the ink carts?

    If it is dried up you can do head cleans until it works, although it may just never unblock completely.

    This is why I now own an LED printer.