1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick Q

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Womble, 11 Feb 2008.

  1. Womble

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 435

    Just ordered some parts, new motherboard/case/psu

    If I plug my exisiting hard drive/cpu and other stuff into the new motherboard will it recognize everything and boot straight to vista with all my files in tact or do I need to back everything up?
     
  2. ThatJoe

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Aug 2007

    Posts: 781

    Location: London, England

    Not sure about vista but with XP you need to reinstall windows.
     
  3. square_imp

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jan 2005

    Posts: 394

    depends, it may work but wouldn't be that stable proabably, ideally you should do a re-install.
     
  4. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,822

    Location: Glasgow

    With XP you would probably need to reactivate Windows since a motherboard change counts as one of the events that should trigger reactivation but Vista might be a little bit different. You don't specifically need to reinstall in that a phone call for the reactivation code would sort it but I would recommend the reinstall as being neater and less likely to lead to problems.
     
  5. nathbooth

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 27

    Location: Boston Lincs/Stafford

    Ideally an OS install should be run on the hardware used on initial install, when replacing a major component such as a motherboard it is recomended to do a fresh install as there can be major issues with drivers, These are mainly down to chipset drivers and storage controller drivers. It will probably work due to the driver set in windows initially but i really would recommend biting the bullet and doing a fresh install depite the agro.
     
  6. Reality|Bites

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 7,707

    Uninstall your chipset drivers before switching boards.

    If it doesn't work, Just reinstall windows.
     
  7. nathbooth

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 27

    Location: Boston Lincs/Stafford

    You can uninstall the drivers but thats not gonna clean up the mess of chipset drivers and all other devices relating to the old motherboard, so your gonna end up with a bloated os thats chock ablock with stuff realting to your old hardware. Just do a fresh install will run much smoother.