• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

R7 1700 upgrade path on X370

Associate
Joined
6 Apr 2012
Posts
275
I've got an R7 1700 running at 3.6GHz (stock cooler) on an X370 prime (Asus) board with 2400MHz RAM
This is paired with an RTX 3080 founders. Display is 1440p, 60Hz, no g-sync.

I'm tempted to upgrade to a 3800X for £220 but wondering if this is worth it at 60Hz? Would I also have to upgrade my ram?

Cyberpunk 2077 struggles to hold 60fps in places and I'm worried about Battlefield 2042

Thanks in advance
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jan 2007
Posts
13,802
Location
PA, USA (Orig UK)
Each series of ryzen boosted minimum frames by about 10fps (varies obviously). But two generations newer will bring your minimums up and make your GPU better fed.

I did have a look to see if your board can take the 5600x and it doesn't look like it can unfortunately.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2009
Posts
22,215
Location
Planet Earth
Yeah, it would overclocking. Most 2400 rated RAM will do 3200.

It depends on the chips which the kit uses. If its one of the real useless ones,it might struggle to hit even 3000MHZ! I would actually try and see if the OP can try pushing the RAM a bit more on that Ryzen 7 1700,and getting a better cooler on it.
 
Associate
Joined
1 Oct 2011
Posts
154
Location
Stoke on Trent
I went from a 1700 to a 3700x on x370, made a big difference to games that weren't well multi threaded and a reasonable difference to ones that were, altho I am running a 100hz monitor. I also had a much easier time with memory speed. Was stuck at 3200mhz on the 1700, got the 3700x running at 3600mhz, same memory without issue.

If your RAM is at 2400mhz the 1700 won't be running as well as it could be, memory speed on ryzen is pretty important.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2015
Posts
5,889
The 1700 is holding you back HEAVILY, but for sure you need better RAM as well. Unfortunately, not sure how well the mobo will take to all of this as the X370s had problems in general. I'm sad to say but for a proper upgrade you probably need to upgrade the mobo too. With your current setup your 3080 will perform more like a 3060 (at best) sadly, it's just being held back too much. Even a 5600X could nearly double your fps and let the 3080 actually stretch its legs. Poor card's been sleeping this whole time.

nYIEVEH.jpg
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Feb 2006
Posts
2,545
I went from a 1800X to a 3900X and it was a nice boost. I did have 32GB of 3600MHz fast RAM but changed to 64GB of slower 3000Mhz RAM and not noticed any speed difference. I would find a second hand 3900X as it will last longer.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Nov 2007
Posts
13,009
Location
Enfield
I went from 1700 to 3700X on my MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon. Gaming and app performance was definitely improved. You can pick up a 3700X pretty cheap these days so I would say it's worthwhile, but the RAM needs sorting as others said.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Apr 2012
Posts
275
Thanks for the replies all - will see if I can pick up a 3700x/3800x cheapish then try overclocking the current RAM
The ram is micron e-die. I ended up with infrequent crashes when mildly overclocked to 2733 hence the stock speeds! The 1700 was a release day purchase I suppose ...
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
3,091
Location
Leicester
I'm sure you will have done, but just in case, don't forget to update your bios to the latest first.

I think it's a worthy upgrade when running a 3080, and it will be worth seeing what you can get out of the ram while you're tinkering.

My 1700 responded well to tight ram timings at lower speeds (3200C14), but I've moved to a 3800XT now and the ram can run at it's rated speed (3600C15).
 
Associate
Joined
6 Apr 2012
Posts
275
Played the BF 2042 beta and the perfoverlay shows the CPU hugely bottlenecking the 3080! Regular dips into the 30s ...
Think I'll wait for Alder-S to launch and see what there is
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jun 2021
Posts
607
Location
Leeds
I am in a similar situation with a 1600 in an old system. I should have got a B grade 3600 when they were on sale for £120 but I will keep my eyes open for a decent deal on 3xxx chip and upgrade the system when I can. Have 3000mhz Samsung B dies so should be able to get to 3200 with the improved memory controller on the 3000 chips.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 May 2007
Posts
3,212
Going from a 1700 @ 3.8Ghz with 3200c14 RAM to a 3800XT was a useful upgrade recently. If doing this make sure you have reasonable cooling for the CPU.

Running RAM at less than 3200 is going to really impact performance. The latest BIOS may help a little with RAM speed as the early ones were pretty poor.
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Nov 2007
Posts
2,632
I picked up a 3800XT to replace my 1700 with memory clocked at 3600Mhz, although not swapped it over yet :)
 
Associate
Joined
7 Nov 2017
Posts
1,540
3200 on a 1700 might not be achievable. I've got sticks of 2400 cl14 ram that would only do 3000mhz with my 1700 at cl16.

DRAM prices are meant to be coming down so get the 3800x, put the voltage up on the ram and see what frequency you can get out of it. What ram is it?
 
Associate
Joined
23 Dec 2020
Posts
250
I've got an R7 1700 running at 3.6GHz (stock cooler) on an X370 prime (Asus) board with 2400MHz RAM
This is paired with an RTX 3080 founders. Display is 1440p, 60Hz, no g-sync.

I'm tempted to upgrade to a 3800X for £220 but wondering if this is worth it at 60Hz? Would I also have to upgrade my ram?

Cyberpunk 2077 struggles to hold 60fps in places and I'm worried about Battlefield 2042

Thanks in advance

X370 unforutnately is a dead end if you ask me - I would rebuild your PC with a B550 or X570 board and get a 5800X at least..
 
Associate
Joined
17 Aug 2009
Posts
1,550
Played the BF 2042 beta and the perfoverlay shows the CPU hugely bottlenecking the 3080! Regular dips into the 30s ...
Think I'll wait for Alder-S to launch and see what there is

AMD cpu performance on battlefield 2042 was a bit weird with the 3600 being min spec the warning signs where there to see before the beta even went live
 
Top Bottom