Radeon vii first time watercooling! Advice please

Associate
Looking to water cool my new Radeon vii when it comes but have no experience with water cooling other than buying pre filled kits.

Current setup:
Carbide 540 High Airflow ATX cube case
Corsair H115i cpu cooler pumping out the roof!
Radeon fury x pumping out the rear
2 280mm fans pumping in the front

I have room for a 280mm radiator in the front and going to keep the H115i.

Going to go with:
EK GPU block (Black)
EK-CoolStream CE 280 or 360
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM Res/pump - is this enough if I choose to cool the CPU?
Fans TBD

What is a good solution for fuss/leak free connection pipe for an absolute beginner!?

Air flow would be:

280 fan blowing in from the rear
Corsair H115i blowing out the roof
EK cooler blowing in or out?

Thanks for any advice!

Last edited:
Soldato
For a beginner the easiest option is soft tubing with barbs and clamps. It's cheap to do, easy to do, but looks "ugly" according to some. You could fit a block to the GPU and do the whole thing in a few hours.

If you don't like the idea of barbs and clamps, go with soft tubing and compression fittings. I would argue that you need to leak-test compression fittings for much longer than with barbs and clamps.

Avoid hardline unless you're a masochist who likes their machine to be in pieces for a long time while you learn.

Associate
OP
For a beginner the easiest option is soft tubing with barbs and clamps. It's cheap to do, easy to do, but looks "ugly" according to some. You could fit a block to the GPU and do the whole thing in a few hours.

If you don't like the idea of barbs and clamps, go with soft tubing and compression fittings. I would argue that you need to leak-test compression fittings for much longer than with barbs and clamps.

Avoid hardline unless you're a masochist who likes their machine to be in pieces for a long time while you learn.

"Avoid being a masocist" ... duly noted... Thanks for the advice!